George and Mary LeCron Foster Curator, Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies
Esmeralda Kale
Contact:
(847) 491-3941
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Il 60208
Website
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Il 60208
General Reference
Africa and the Americas by
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa. * Over 100 expert contributors—a diverse group of international scholars from all sides of the Atlantic representing many different disciplines * A rich collection of photographs of major political, cultural, and intellectual leaders from both sides of the Atlantic
ISBN: 9781851094417Publication Date: 2008-03-12
Africana by
Inspired by the dream of the late African American scholar W.E.B. Du Bois and assisted by an eminent advisory board, Harvard scholars Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Kwame Anthony Appiah have created the first scholarly encyclopedia to take as its scope the entire history of Africa and the African Diaspora.Beautifully designed and richly illustrated with over a thousand images - maps, tables, charts, photographs, hundreds of them in full color - this single-volume reference includes more than three thousand articles and over two million words. The interplay between text and illustration conveys the richness and sweep of the African and African American experience as no other publication before it. Certain to prove invaluable to anyone interested in black history and the influence of African culture on the world today, Africana is a unique testament to the remarkable legacy of a great and varied people.With entries ranging from ”affirmative action” to ”zydeco,” from each of the most prominent ethnic groups in Africa to each member of the Congressional Black Caucus, Africana brings the entire black world into sharp focus. Every concise, informative article is referenced to others with the aim of guiding the reader through such wide-ranging topics as the history of slavery; the civil rights movement; African-American literature, music, and art; ancient African civilizations; and the black experience in countries such as France, India, and Russia.More than a book for library reference, Africana will give hours of reading pleasure through its longer, interpretive essays by such notable writers as Stanley Crouch, Gerald Early, Randall Kennedy, and Cornel West. These specially commissioned essays give the reader an engaging chronicle of the religion, arts, and cultural life of Africans and of black people in the Old World and the New.
ISBN: 0465000711Publication Date: 1999-10-27
Bakari II (1312) et Christophe Colomb (1492) à la rencontre de l'Amérique by ISBN: 9782343041162Publication Date: 2014
Crosscurrents in the Black Atlantic, 1770-1965 by
Africans’ influence in the Atlantic world before 1960 was not confined to their roles as victims in the one-way forced migration of the Atlantic slave trade and their labor on New World plantations. From the mid-eighteenth century to the mid-twentieth century, black people in the divided communities of the four Atlantic continents struggled to overcome geographical and cultural separations and build a broad coalition against discrimination and exploitation. David Northrup offers a collection of primary sources that presents the social, political, and intellectual interactions of black people around the Atlantic in their quests for advancement, liberation, and emancipation. His thoughtful introduction explores the themes woven through the history of the black Atlantic, in particular black people’s search for security and self-fulfillment and their effort to find their place in a common humanity. Document headnotes, a chronology of key events, questions for consideration, and a selected bibliography offer additional pedagogical support.
ISBN: 9780312442446Publication Date: 2007-07-06
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by
This vast three-volume Encyclopedia offers more than 4000 entries on all aspects of the dynamic and exciting contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean. Its coverage is unparalleled with more than 40 regions discussed and a time-span of 1920 to the present day. "Culture" is broadly defined to include food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture. The international team of contributors include many who are based in Latin America and the Caribbean making this the most essential, authoritative and authentic Encyclopedia for anyone studying Latin American and Caribbean studies. Key features include: * over 4000 entries ranging from extensive overview entries which provide context for general issues to shorter, factual or biographical pieces * articles followed by bibliographic references which offer a starting point for further research * extensive cross-referencing and thematic and regional contents lists direct users to relevant articles and help map a route through the entries * a comprehensive index provides further guidance.
ISBN: 041513188XPublication Date: 2001-01-16
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora by
The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries. * More than 500 A–Z entries * Contributions from hundreds of leading scholars * Maps showing key locations in the African Diaspora
ISBN: 9781851097005Publication Date: 2008-07-29
The First Americans Were Africans by
Cowboys and Indians?Not hardly. The Cowboys, actually, came on the scene very late. The First Americans, as seen on the cover of this book, will be thoroughly covered. The picture was taken by the crew of The HMS Challenger Expedition, 1872-1876 A.D. at the most Southern region of South America, at a place called Tierra del Fuego. This picture can be seen today in the Natural Museum of London. Africans not only came before Columbus and Clovis, but were in the Americans far before any other group, at least 60,000 years ago. We will go through evidence exposed by a panel of credible scholars, professors and researchers. The evidence lies in several different scientific fields.Do not forget the Egyptians. They were also here far before the Vikings or Columbus. They left structures above and below the waves in far away places in North America. From the East to the West Coasts; from the valleys to mountain tops that still carry their names. You will read about remnants of their artifacts, writings, architecture and more.For years this story was hidden and forbidden to be repeated. Researchers who dared to bring out new finds that were against the accepted history were intimidated, funding terminated and in some cases jobs and careers put in jeopardy. Authors such as Dr. Imhotep are now throwing caution to the wind and lifting the veil of secrecy never to be closed again. This is a true history for all to learn and enjoy and there is much more on its way ... as the veil of secrecy and concealed information is made available to the public in my future, "Lifting of the Veil Series."
ISBN: 9781452091280Publication Date: 2011-03-04- G.K. Hall interdisciplinary bibliographic guide to Black studies by Publication Date: 1999-
Life in an Haitian Valley by
Sidney Mintz, Johns Hopkins University, is author of Sweetness and Power, and numerous other books. Herskovits was America's leading anthropologist, first president of the African Studies Association and author of many books. Life in a Haitian Valley is his most famous work on Caribbean culture.
ISBN: 9781558764552Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Middle Passage by
Alex Haley's Roots awakened many Americans to the cruelty of slavery. The Middle Passage focuses attention on the torturous journey which brought slaves from Africa to the Americas, allowing readers to bear witness to the sufferings of an entire people.
ISBN: 0803718047Publication Date: 1995-11-01
The Oxford Companion to Black British History by
The Oxford Companion to Black British History is an essential reference for anyone who wants to understand the long and fascinating history of black people in Britain from classical times to the present day. It brings together a unique collection of articles that provide an overview of the black presence in Britain, and the rich and diverse contribution made to British society. The A-Z guide includes entries for landmark figures, key events, concepts (such as Emancipation and Reparations), and historical accounts. Subject areas include medicine, military history, art, music, sports, and education. Entries range from the African auxiliaries stationed on Hadrian's Wall in the second century A.D., through John Edmonstone, who taught taxidermy to Charles Darwin, Mary Seacole, the "Black Florence Nightingale," and Walter Tull, a professional soccer player and First World War officer. The guide will be of tremendous interest to those involved in commenting on subjects relating to the Black British community, or anyone interested in finding out about the history of expatriated Africans outside the Americas. Features: · First ever reference book to explore the fullhistory of black people in Britain · Detailed timeline charts key dates for people and events from the 2nd century AD to the 21st century · Edited by David Dabydeen, prize-winning novelist and respected academic, together with John Gilmore and Cecily Jones · Over 400 entries written by more than 100 specialists under the direction of Professor Dabydeen, his colleagues, and a distinguished team of advisers
ISBN: 9780192804396Publication Date: 2007-03-19
The Peoples of the Caribbean by
A true "first," this encyclopedia is the only comprehensive guide ever published on the archaeology and traditional culture of the Caribbean. * 500 A-Z entries on all major prehistoric civilizations and archaeological sites ranging from Amazons and Black Legend to Shamanism and Vodoun * Comprehensive introductory essay providing a framework of the archaeological and cultural heritage of the Caribbean peoples * References with each entry as well as a comprehensive end-of-volume bibliography, making further research easy * Chronology of the Caribbean's diverse prehistoric, colonial, and modern peoples from c. 5,000 B.C. to the present
ISBN: 9781576077016Publication Date: 2005-12-16
African Diaspora: Introduction
From The ICD “Experience Africa” Program:
The first wave of forced African migrations began during the Transatlantic Slave Trade (16th-19th century). Europeans captured or bought African slaves, mostly from West Africa, and brought them to Europe, and later on to South and North America. The number of Africans who were shipped across the Atlantic is estimated to be around 12 million.
This population movement can be considered as the migration that paved the way for the constitution of the first African community outside of Africa. In point of fact, the slave trade can be considered as the 'founding myth' of the African Diaspora in Europe and in America. Many Africans were deported out of Africa during this period, but the feeling of belonging to a community, the African community, did not disappear. In a way, this feeling became even stronger.
The transatlantic slave trade contributed mostly to creating a large community of African origins in the American continent, especially in the US and in Brazil. This diaspora belongs to the first wave of migration, and is often referred to as the historical diaspora.