Slave Trade
African voices on slavery and the slave tradeISBN: 9780521194709
Atlas of the transatlantic slave tradeISBN: 9780300124606
The impact of the Atlantic slave trade upon AfricaISBN: 1896267009
Many middle passages : forced migration and the making of the modern worldISBN: 9780520252066
Reflections on Arab-led slavery of Africans by
Six papers in English, four papers in French.
ISBN: 1919932054Publication Date: 2005
Routes to Slavery by ISBN: 0714643904Publication Date: 1997-07-31Containing records of some 25,000 slaving voyages between 1595 and 1867, this data set forms the basis of most of the papers included in this collection. Other papers offer quantitative analysis in the ethnicity of slaves, mortality trends and slaves' reconstruction of their identities.
The Transatlantic Slave Trade by ISBN: 9988647735Publication Date: 2007-12-29Brightly colored fish introduce young children to counting and basic addition in this fun and simple concept book. “A visual treat from start to finish.”--Booklist
- International Slavery MuseumLiverpool's International Slavery Museum highlights the international importance of slavery, both in a historic and contemporary context. Working in partnership with other museums with a focus on freedom and enslavement, the museum provides opportunities for greater awareness and understanding of the legacy of slavery today. Includes "The History of the Transatlantic Slave Trade."
- Revealing Histrories: Remembering SlaveryRevealing Histories is a partnership of eight museums and galleries in Greater Manchester. We came together in 2007 to commemorate the bicentenary of the abolition of the British slave trade in 1807 and to explore the legacy of slavery in our collections, in our communities and in our region. Slavery is part of our shared history that still impacts on our lives today.
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseThis database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the 16th and 19th centuries.
Slavery
Historical dictionary of slavery and abolitionISBN: 9780810859661
Slave revolts in Puerto Rico : conspiracies and uprisings, 1795-1873ISBN: 9781558764620
Toussaint Louverture by
This is a new critical edition of an unjustly forgotten drama by Alphonse de Lamartine, written in the early 1840s but only given its first, and last, performance in Paris in 1850. It draws a compelling image of Toussaint Louverture, the father of Haitian Independence. Lamartine proved something of a visionary by stressing his hero's search for a coherent racial and national ideology, a theme which has become fundamental in Négritude and post-colonial literatures. This edition is the first to provide a critical apparatus covering the history of the text, the political and social background against which it should be read, the reception of the work from the time of its original performance to today, and to offer notes on the historical figures included in the cast of characters, as well as a selection of variants, explanatory footnotes and an extensive bibliography. This volume is in the series Textes littéraires/Exeter French Texts. The text, introduction and essential notes are all in French.
ISBN: 0859896358Publication Date: 1998-12-01- Zumbi dos Palmares : herói negro da nova consciência nacionalISBN: 8573796081
- Slave Revolt in Jamaica, 1760-1761: A Cartographic NarrativeThis animated thematic map narrates the spatial history of the greatest slave insurrection in the eighteenth century British Empire.
Paying the price of freedom family and labor among Lima's slaves, 1800-1854ISBN: 0-520-08235-4
Slavery, Family, and Gentry Capitalism in the British Atlantic by
From the mid-seventeenth century to the 1830s, successful gentry capitalists created an extensive business empire centered on slavery in the West Indies, but inter-linked with North America, Africa, and Europe. S. D. Smith examines the formation of this British Atlantic World from the perspective of Yorkshire aristocratic families who invested in the West Indies. At the heart of the book lies a case study of the plantation-owning Lascelles and the commercial and cultural network they created with their associates. The Lascelles exhibited high levels of business innovation and were accomplished risk-takers, overcoming daunting obstacles to make fortunes out of the New World. Dr Smith shows how the family raised themselves first to super-merchant status and then to aristocratic pre-eminence. He also explores the tragic consequences for enslaved Africans with chapters devoted to the slave populations and interracial relations. This widely researched book sheds new light on the networks and the culture of imperialism.
ISBN: 0521863384Publication Date: 2006-07-20
Slavery, childhood, and abolition in Jamaica, 1788-1838ISBN: 9780820348025
Sugar in the blood : a family's story of slavery and empireISBN: 9780307474544
Women and Family Slave Society by ISBN: 0824067894Publication Date: 1990-02-01First Published in 1990. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
- El Trabajo Forzoso en Cuba by
Cuba, la perla de las Antillas, es atractiva por su hermosa geografía tropical. Su gente se distingue por el carácter afable y el tono dicharachero de su extrovertido accionar. La música, el buen tabaco, su exquisito ron y la belleza de sus mujeres, también la define. Desde el primero de Enero de 1959, otro sello se le impuso a la isla, el de los revolucionarios encabezados por Fidel Castro Ruz. Desde entonces el país se ha mantenido en el ojo del Huracán. Su controversial realidad socio-política se discute. Millones de cubanos han preferido vivir alejados del proceso comunista que allí se vive. Muchos de ellos son intelectuales y artistas; por eso abundan las obras revisionistas de su historia más reciente. Los enfoques son numerosos y diversos. Este ensayo pretende hacer justicia sobre la realidad laboral de aquel país.
ISBN: 089729937XPublication Date: 2001-01-01
Da escravidão ao trabalho livre : Brasil, 1550-1900ISBN: 8535924795
Through the prism of slavery : labor, capital, and world economyISBN: 0742529398
A tale of two plantations : slave life and labor in Jamaica and VirginiaISBN: 9780674735361
Abolition
After abolition : Britain and the slave trade since 1807ISBN: 1845113659
The End of Slavery in Africa and the Americas by
For centuries social and economic relations within the Atlantic space were dominated by slavery and the transatlantic slave trade from Africa to the Americas. By the slowly and arduously achieved end of this trade, slave labour in the Americas was replaced in many cases by other forms of coerced labour of African Caribbean people or Indian, Chinese, African or European immigrants. This book focuses on the transformation of societies after the slave trade and slavery in a comparative intercontinental perspective. It combines micro- and macro-historical approaches and looks at the agency of slaves, missionaries, abolitionists, state officials, seamen and soldiers.
ISBN: 9783643103451Publication Date: 2011-02-17- Gender and Slave Emancipation in the Atlantic World by
This groundbreaking collection provides the first comparative history of gender and emancipation in the Atlantic world. Bringing together essays on the United States, Brazil, Cuba, Puerto Rico, West Africa and South Africa, and the Francophone and Anglophone Caribbean, it shows that emancipation was a profoundly gendered process, produced through connections between race, gender, sexuality, and class. Contributors from the United States, Canada, Europe, the Caribbean, and Brazil explore how the processes of emancipation involved the re-creation of gender identities--the production of freedmen and freedwomen with different rights, responsibilities, and access to citizenship. Offering detailed analyses of slave emancipation in specific societies, the contributors discuss all of the diverse actors in emancipation: slaves, abolitionists, free people of color, state officials, and slave owners. Whether considering the construction of a postslavery masculine subjectivity in Jamaica, the work of two white U.S. abolitionist women with the Freedmen's Bureau after the Civil War, freedwomen's negotiations of labor rights in Puerto Rico, slave women's contributions to the slow unraveling of slavery in French West Africa, or the ways that Brazilian abolitionists deployed representations of femininity as virtuous and moral, these essays demonstrate the gains that a gendered approach offers to understanding the complex processes of emancipation. Some chapters also explore theories and methodologies that enable a gendered reading of postslavery archives. The editors' substantial introduction traces the reasons for and patterns of women's and men's different experiences of emancipation throughout the Atlantic world. Contributors. Martha Abreu, Sheena Boa, Bridget Brereton, Carol Faulkner, Roger Kittleson, Martin Klein, Melanie Newton, Diana Paton, Sue Peabody, Richard Roberts, Ileana M. Rodriguez-Silva, Hannah Rosen, Pamela Scully, Mimi Sheller, Marek Steedman, Michael Zeuske
ISBN: 0822335816Publication Date: 2005-10-04
The Rise and Fall of the Plantation Complex by
Over a period of several centuries, Europeans developed an intricate system of plantation agriculture overseas which was quite different from the agricultural system used at home. Though the plantation complex centered on the American tropics, its influence was much wider. Much more than an economic order for the Americas, the plantation complex had an important place in world history. These essays concentrate on the intercontinental impact.
ISBN: 0521620767Publication Date: 1998-02-13
Slave Emancipation in Cuba - The Transition to Free Labor, 1860-1899 by
The Description for this book, Slave Emancipation in Cuba: The Transition to Free Labor, 1860-1899, will be forthcoming.
ISBN: 0691076677Publication Date: 1986-02-21
