Services & Software Tools
The resources linked in this box support self-paced learning about Text Mining. Feel free to explore the suggested databases for resources beyond the specific titles listed.
See the box entitled, More Resources, for access to experts in the University Libraries as well as the resources they recommend most frequently.
- Sage Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window"...the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences..."
Search results in this database can be limited by discipline and format (podcast, video, dataset, etc.).
Sample ebook titles include: - O'Reilly Books Online This link opens in a new windowFOR ACCESS - click on "Institution not listed?" If accessing for the first time, register using a Northwestern or Garrett email address and validate the account via email. If returning, click "Already a user?" and log in.
Provides ebooks, audiobooks, courses, and videos to support learning software and its applications to quantitative and qualitative research methods, data science, IT management, security, and much more. From introductory to advanced, with industry-specific presentations for business, health care, IT operations, among others. Many texts include access to instructional materials such as PowerPoint slides and learning activities.
Sample titles:
The resources linked in this box support self-paced learning about Data Mining. Feel free to explore the suggested database for resources beyond the specific titles listed.
See the box entitled, More Resources, for access to experts in the University Libraries as well as the resources they recommend most frequently.
- O'Reilly Books Online This link opens in a new windowFOR ACCESS - click on "Institution not listed?" If accessing for the first time, register using a Northwestern or Garrett email address and validate the account via email. If returning, click "Already a user?" and log in.
Provides ebooks, audiobooks, courses, and videos to support learning software and its applications to quantitative and qualitative research methods, data science, IT management, security, and much more. From introductory to advanced, with industry-specific presentations for business, health care, IT operations, among others. Many texts include access to instructional materials such as PowerPoint slides and learning activities.
Sample titles:
The resources linked in this box support self-paced learning about tools used in Digital Humanities projects. The specific titles listed are extremely selective in relation to the variety of tools / software applications available for DH projects. Be sure to review the Digital Humanities guide, linked in the More Resources box which will provide access to experts in the University Libraries as well as the resources they recommend most frequently.
- O'Reilly Books Online This link opens in a new windowFOR ACCESS - click on "Institution not listed?" If accessing for the first time, register using a Northwestern or Garrett email address and validate the account via email. If returning, click "Already a user?" and log in.
Provides ebooks, audiobooks, courses, and videos to support learning software and its applications to quantitative and qualitative research methods, data science, IT management, security, and much more. From introductory to advanced, with industry-specific presentations for business, health care, IT operations, among others. Many texts include access to instructional materials such as PowerPoint slides and learning activities.
Sample titles: - Sage Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window"...the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences..."
Search results in this database can be limited by discipline and format (podcast, video, dataset, etc.).
Sample titles:
- ESRI Training CatalogESRI makes ArcGIS and related products that support digital mapping and geospatial analysis. There are excellent online training materials. Select the program of interest, e.g. ArcGIS Pro, and be sure to click the check box for FREE training options (the check box is very small!).
- Teach with the LibrariesNU Libraries provides educational services to support curricular and co-curricular learning related to a wide range of research methods including information research, data and text analysis, digital mapping (GIS) and geospatial analysis, and digital humanities. Learn more here!
- NU Libraries Instruction Request FormIf you wish to schedule instruction presented by the NULibraries' on any of these topics (information research, text mining/analysis, data analysis or management, GIS, digital humanities, etc.) whether as a stand-alone workshop or a session(s) related to a specific course and assignment, please complete this form.
- Research Data: Consultation Request FormTo request assistance with research data methods or resources from Northwestern University Libraries or IT Research Computing Services, please complete this form. Someone will be in touch as soon as possible. This can include data mining, data management, data visualization, digital mapping, geospatial data analysis, text mining and analysis, and other research-computing methods and resources.