Subject Databases
Shame has been studied by scholars in many different subject disciplines, many of which are represented in the list below. Database searching tips are provided in the box below. Please contact me for suggestions about selecting where or how to search.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of anthropological materials. Unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres: Harvard University's Anthropological Literature and the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index. Coverage: 1800s to today.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source provides indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering topics, including art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world and all periods of time. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2 million images* (and growing), scholars can easily examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and modern architectural plans from Columbia University.
Composed of approximately 300 curated sub-collections, Artstor supports and enriches study across disciplines, including world events from Magnum Photos, anthropology from Harvard’s Peabody Museum, and archaeology from Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Art Archives and, making it a resource for your whole institution. - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCombining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
- Education Abstracts This link opens in a new windowEducation Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Covers 1983-present.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the U.S. Covers 1970-present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations with approximately 14,000 new references added every year. Coverage includes the fields of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.
Database Search Tips: Videos
These two videos provide a concise refresher on identifying keywords and combining them into search statements that will be effective in databases. The Search Terms Worksheet can help you keep track of your keywords, searches, and results.
The Choosing Keywords video above is 1:27 minutes
Searching with Keywords video below runs 2:26 minutes. Both are short, sweet, and jam packed with helpful tips.
Database Search Tips: Graphics
While you can type a complete sentence in Google and get reasonable search results, databases require use of keywords to describe your topic. Because authors may use different words to describe the same subject, using synonyms allows you to include those variations in your results. Connect your keywords and synonyms using the search tools described below.
Combining Keywords
ANDUse AND to combine terms that describe contrasting concepts within your search topic. AND requires that all terms be included in the items returned and therefore
In most databases, including the Academic Search Complete database shown here, the search tools are easy to access |
SEARCH STATEMENT:
|
ORUse OR to combine synonyms for a concept important to your search. OR will include database records that include either or both of the terms and therefore EXPANDS
|
SEARCH STATEMENT:
|
AND and OR and PARENTHESES ( )Use parentheses around terms that are synonyms connected using OR, particularly when using more than one Boolean operator in the same search statement. Terms in parentheses will be processed first by the computer. Using parentheses ensures that you control which terms are processed as synonyms.
|
SEARCH STATEMENT:
|
Phrase SearchingUse quotation marks around terms ensures that the database |
Examples: "cognitive development" "service animals" "academic advising" |
NOTUse NOT very selectively. NOT will exclude records that have the term specified. If over-used the NOT operator can exclude materials that you wish to see.
|
SEARCH STATEMENT:
This will exclude all records that use the term toddler, whether or not that record also mentions baby or infant or both terms. |
TruncationUsing a truncation symbol, commonly but not always the asterisk ( * ), allows different forms of the same word to be included in the search results. |
Examples: music* Will include music, musical, musician in results. Do not truncate too early in the word mus* will retrieve all the words listed above, but also muscle, museum, mushroom, and so forth If the asterisk symbol does not appear to be working, check the database online help to verify what symbol is used. |
