Your Librarian
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
MLA Style Manual & Complements
MLA Handbook 9th edition by Call Number: In multiple locationsPublication Date: 2021Book in print format
MLA Handbook by Call Number: Multiple locationsPublication Date: 2016, 8th editionIn the 8th edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source.
MLA Style Center: Writing Resources from the Modern Language Association (online guidance)
- Using MLA Style - The starting point for learning and applying MLA Style
- MLA Works Cited: A Quick Guide
- Formatting a research paper - Margins, text formatting, heading and title, tables and illustrations, are among the many topics addressed.
- Interactive practice template - Use to format a works-cited list.
- Ask the MLA - Look through the FAQ to see if your question has already been answered. If not, submit your question using the form provided
- MLA Style 101 Webinar recording is available at no cost, although registration is required.
They Say / I Say by Call Number: Main Library Reserve - located at Main Circulation Desk PE1431 .G73 2018Publication Date: 2018, 4th editionCheck HathiTrust for digitized copy of 2014 3rd edition
This book identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing. It shows students how to frame their arguments as a response to what others have said and provides templates to help them start making the moves. The fourth edition features many NEW examples from academic writing, a NEW chapter on Entering Online Discussions, and a thoroughly updated chapter on Writing in the Social Sciences. Finally, two NEW readings provide current examples of the rhetorical moves in action.
Cite Right, Third Edition by Call Number: Main Library Core Reference - 2 North PN171.F56 L55 2018ISBN: 9780226431109Publication Date: 2018Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook.
Comparing Citation Styles
The objectives of all citation styles are extremely similar yet it can be challenging to move between styles to meet the requirements of different classes and instructors.
Remember to always take a deep breath.
The elements to include in a citation rarely vary between styles. What changes is the sequence of the elements and their format. Here is a high level comparison of the major differences between APA and MLA citation styles. Scribbr also provides more detailed comparisons of several major citation styles.
Definitions:
- In-Text Citation
Acknowledgement of the source for text that is quoted or paraphrased from another source, placed in the text using parenthesis - Numerical Citations
Acknowledgement of the source for text that is quoted or paraphrased from another source using a number either in brackets or as superscript that links to the full citation in a numbered list. - Note citations
A citation and/or text note is placed at the bottom of the relevant page of text, indicated by a number either in brackets or as superscript.
Image source: Scribbr
I am not endorsing any services (free or fee) provided by Scribbr but their graphics are very helpful.
| What type of source is cited below? |
|---|
 |
| What type of source is cited below? |
 |
Note: When using citations generated by any kind of software, always review your references
and make any necessary corrections before using.
In the examples above there is an error in the citations for one of the publications.
The error appears in all three styles generated by JSTOR.
Can you identify it?
Type of Source Answers:
The work by Wanzo is a chapter in a book. The work by Million is an article in a journal.
Citation Errors Made by JSTOR in the examples above:
The author's name, Rebecca Wanzo, is not capitalized in any of the citation styles. Neither are the names of the editors of the book in which Ms. Wanzo's chapter appears, Maggie Hennefield and Nicholas Sammond.
MLA Style Background Information
Allen, Mike. (2017) Modern Language Association (MLA) Style, IN The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods. 4 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc, 2017. SAGE Research Methods. Web. 24 Jun. 2020, doi: 10.4135/9781483381411.
Encyclopedia article providing description of the elements of MLA Style. What follows are a selection of additional articles in the encyclopedia explaining the writing and citing processes. Use links at the bottom of each article to continue exploring.
- Boon, Belinda. "Bibliographic Research." The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods, edited by Mike Allen, vol. 1, SAGE Reference, 2017, pp. 92-94. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX7191000047/GVRL?u=northwestern&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=20a7322f.
- "Citations to Research." The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods, edited by Mike Allen, vol. 1, SAGE Reference, 2017, pp. 134-136. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX7191000064/GVRL?u=northwestern&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=f3c542e1
- Butler, Jennifer A. "Literature Reviews, Resources for." The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods, edited by Mike Allen, vol. 2, SAGE Reference, 2017, pp. 880-881. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX7191000298/GVRL?u=northwestern&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=91aede5b