"The text clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance and presents a solid overview of how the various components fit together." --publisher

"From organization to management, financing, and evaluation, this book discusses the critical concepts, trends, and features of this sprawling set of interlocking systems. It also examines the historical origins of modern health care and how it delivers services to over 300 million Americans."--publisher

"Healthcare in the United States: Clinical, Financial, and Operational Dimensions offers an introductory overview of the American healthcare system by exploring its many organizations, populations, professions, structures, financing, and delivery models, as well as their impact." --publisher

"This revised ninth edition of the best-selling introductory text to the U.S. health care system is fully updated to reflect changes to health care services, delivery, and financing resulting from new policies affecting the Affordable Care Act (ACA)."--publisher

"The book presents a broad overview of the system's numerous components, assesses the historical influences that brought us to our present state, and examines the trends and emerging opportunities through which we can attain a better future." --publisher

This book provides in-depth coverage of all the most important and central topics in the healthcare applications of artificial intelligence, including: Healthcare IT AI Clinical Operations AI Operational Infrastructure Project Planning Metrics, Reporting, and Service Performance AIOps in Automation AIOps Cloud Operations Future of AI.

Healthcare organisations have to manage change in order to evolve and improve care. This book explores the use of reflective practice as a practical tool to examine growth and change and to develop an effective health care organisation.

Provides a comprehensive look at the economic factors of health care, including chapters on the organization of health insurance markets; the production, cost, and technology of health care; and consumer choice and demand.

Topics Covered: Accounting and Activity-Based Costing / Economics / Finance / Health Policy / Human Resources / Information Technology / Institutions and Organizations / International Health Care Issues / Legal and Regulatory Issues / Managed Care / Marketing and Customer Value / Operations and Decision Making / Pharmaceuticals and Clinical Trials / Quality / Statistics and Data Mining / Strategy

A to Z entries present biographies of the field's current and past leaders, health service associations, foundations and research organizations.

Searchable A-Z entries on healthcare decision making topics.

Published by the Labor and Employment Relations Association (distributed by ILR Press/Cornell University Press)

The handbook also provides an easy-to-comprehend introduction to five essential research tools--Markov decision process, game theory and information economics, queueing games, econometric methods, and data science--by illustrating their uses and applicability on examples from diverse healthcare settings, thus connecting tools with thrusts.

Advice on leadership from Harvard Business Review.

The ultimate analytics guide for the health industry leader, this essential book equips business leaders with little-to-no experience in analytics to understand how to incorporate analytics as a cornerstone of their 21st century competitive business strategy. Explores the financial components of this new operating model, using analytics to optimize the tradeoffs between cost and value.

"Health Care Finance: Basic Tools for Nonfinancial Managers, Fifth Edition is the most practical and applied text for those who need a basic and better understanding of health care financial management. Using actual examples from hospitals, long-term care facilities, and home health agencies, this user-friendly text includes practical information for the nonfinancial manager charged with budgeting." --publisher

Apply engineering and design principles to revitalize the healthcare delivery system Healthcare Systems Engineering is the first engineering book to cover this emerging field, offering comprehensive coverage of the healthcare system, healthcare delivery, and healthcare systems modeling.

"Learn best practices for healthcare information security and privacy with detailed coverage of essential topics such as information governance, roles and occupations, risk assessment and management, incident response, patient rights, and cybersecurity."--publisher

This practical guide describes key issues surrounding innovation, such as the barriers to innovation in healthcare, the opportunities of working across boundaries in open innovation, and the process and tools of exploring the innovation approach. This user-friendly guide is ideal for all healthcare professionals and healthcare teams, both in training and in practice.

"An innovative analysis of this exemplary institution, Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic presents a proven prescription for creating sustainable service excellence in any organization." --publisher

"A unique historical review that traces health spending from ancient times to the present and forecasts 21st century trends."--publisher

Covering key themes from culture, change, leadership, teams, IT and a systemic perspective of health care overall, it provides both practical insights and theoretical perspectives that will support immediate improvements and encourage longer term dialogue on how organization science can impact the delivery, structure and operations of health care systems globally.

This comprehensive and much-needed resource helps health care ethicists to meet the demand of challenges such as managed care, medical technology, and patient activism. Through a review of core principles and a rich selection of cases, practitioners and students will learn to apply ethics in the day-to-day administration of health care organizations.

Performance Improvement for Healthcare: Leading Change with Lean, Six Sigma, and Constraints Management lays out an integrated approach for using three industrially based methods to transform hospital operations in terms of patient outcomes and experience, financial viability, and employee satisfaction. This pioneering guide presents a scalable strategy for managing bottlenecks, eliminating waste, reducing errors, and containing costs in healthcare organizations, as well as sustaining the gains achieved. Real-world case studies illustrate successful performance improvement implementations that have realized breakthrough operational and financial results.

"Comprehensive, authoritative, and practical, this landmark text provides a solid grounding in clinical, organizational, and administrative areas central to the practice of hospital medicine." --publisher

Whether senior or mid-level manager the reader will learn to apply knowledge and skills to initiate cultural change, assess strengths and weaknesses, align leadership roles with organizational goals, and position themselves to become a resilient leader. The reader will also learn how to identify message strategies consistent with stakeholders' needs, resolve conflicts, lead multidisciplinary teams, and realize the impact of resilient leadership in influencing outcomes.

Covers strategic thinking, strategic planning and managing strategic momentum, competitor analysis, internal organizational analysis, and more.

"The author walks you through the past, present, and future of American health care, showing you how the United States got to its present state and offering practical solutions to improving access and affordability for millions of people."--publisher

Contents include sections on healthcare providers, payers, technology, and the public sector.