Research Guides: Healthcare Administration: Data and Statistics

Use These Resources

Use these resources below to find resources for datasets and statistics.

Find Data and Statistics

AHA Hospital Quick Search
American Hospital Association search tool for hospital/ health care system basic info.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality Data Tool
Part of the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ has searchable data on health information.
American Hospital Directory
Use the free search tool to find hospital profiles including services offered, accreditation, inpatient/outpatient utilization statistics, and basic financial info. Also find info by state on beds, discharges, and gross patient revenue.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Datasets from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics including data on employment, unemployment, inflation, workplace injuries, and more.
CDC WONDER
Menu of links to public health data arranged by topic.
US Census
Data tables from the U.S. Census.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC datasets on health topics arranged by subject.
Data.gov
Data.gov contains over 300,000 datasets from a wide variety of agencies of the U.S. federal government and local governments.
FastStats
Health statistics organized by topic in A-Z format.
Joint Commission
Search by provider name or zip code and view brief quality reports by the Joint Commission, an accrediting body for health care organizations.
National Center for Health Statistics
"The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics."--NCHS website
National Vital Statistics System
"The National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) provides the most complete data on births and deaths in the United States." --NVSS website

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.

Social Science data resources
This guide provides links to datasets on a wide range of subjects, including art and culture, campaign finance, health topics, and social issues.
State Health Facts
Published by the Kaiser Family Foundation, a non-partisan, non-profit private organization (unrelated to the Kaiser Permanente health system).

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of topics including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
The World Bank Open Data site provides, "free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe." Among the datasets included are the World Development Indicators (WDI), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), Gender Statistics, Worldwide Governance Indicators, Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Education Statistics, etc. Most of the data is available in Arabic, French, Spanish and Chinese in addition to English.