Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals & Databases
Following are some of the leading journals covering areas and topics relevant to tphotography, as well as how those topics have been critically considered and discussed. Scholarly in focus, they cover a wide range of topics. In addition, the articles can be invaluable sources of bibliographic inspiration. While books can sometimes offer greater breadth, journal articles represent the most current scholarship on a given topic from a number of varying perspectives.
Call Number: TR640 .F455
OSMOS Magazine is an art magazine about the use and abuse of photography, founded by Cay Sophie Rabinowitz. The journal nourishes contemporary perspectives in photography and the visual arts, delivering a unique view with content divided into recurring thematic sections—some traditional, such as “Portfolio,” “Stories” and “Reportage"—and others more idiosyncratic, such as “Eye of the Beholder,” where gallerists discuss the talents they showcase; and “Means to an End,” about the side effects of non-artistic image production. One outstanding feature is a critical approach to the cover, which acknowledges the delayed effect of image capture or so-called “after image,” by featuring an artist or work to be discussed in the following issue. With a radical blend of arresting images, print quality and distinctive design, OSMOS Magazine is a recognized leader among publications fostering contemporary perspectives in photography as the medium crossing all creative industries and practices.
Call Number: 770.9747 C759
Contact Sheet is where lovers of photography, from museum professionals to avid amateurs to collectors, turn to see the latest work by important emerging and mid-career artists from around the world
Call Number: 770.5 P5758
Photoworks champions photography for everyone. We are an international platform, global in reach, and have provided opportunities for artists and audiences since 1995. We do not have a physical venue, but our online channels are always open. Our programme brings new experiences to audiences and opens up new ways to encounter photography.
Photography & Culture
Call Number: 770.5 P5759
Photography & Culture is a refereed journal that is international in its scope and interdisciplinary in its contributions. It aims to interrogate the contextual and historic breadth of photographic practice from a range of informed perspectives and to encourage new insights into the media through original and incisive writing.
Kiroku (Record) by
Call Number: 770.5 K59
In 1972–73, at the age of 34 and emerging from his involvement with Provoke, Daido Moriyama published five issues of a personal photography magazine, Kiroku (Record).
Thirty-four years later, in 2006, he revived the magazine, with Akio Nagasawa on board as publisher, and issues appearing two or three times a year. Every new issue is an event, and Moriyama shows no sign of slowing down; the latest issue, number 45, came out earlier this year.
Artstor is a digital image library that provides over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from around the globe and across time periods. Included are images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Register for free with the site to access its full range of services.
CARLI Digital Collections
CARLI Digital Collections is a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members. CARLI Digital Collections is a growing image and special collections research resource.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Photography: The World through the Lens
Photography: The World through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe. Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed. The nineteenth century was about family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel—all this is captured in photographs. This engaging resource serves multiple disciplines and supports a range of research and study topics.
Art & Architecture Source
Art & Architecture Source provides indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering topics, including art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world and all periods of time. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.