Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A word about the Browse feature. . .
At the very top of the library's Advanced Search page is one of the catalog's least-known features, the Browse option. Each book in the catalog has several subject terms assigned to it, which help delineate that book's coverage. Using the Browse option lets you search the catalog by those subject terms, using different controlled vocabularies. This allows you, in effect, to search by what a book is actually about, rather than hoping to find that term in a general search result. The advantage is focus: Browse results are books associated specifically with those subject terms, while the same basic search from the library home page will simply return every result with those terms in it, requiring you to weed out extraneous items. You'll still have to consider your Browse results carefully, but it will be much, much easier.
These are basic reference texts for art and photography. If you are unfamiliar with the discipline or with specific artists, genres, or terminology, these can provide basic background information and act as guides to more focused research.
Oxford Art Online
Access point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxfords partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations.
A great place to start for concise, authoritative information, especially if you're unfamiliar with the discipline or with a specific topic.
Reading Photography by
Call Number: 770.9 R287
Publication Date: 2011
The relatively new medium of photography has generated, from its inception, intense debate over its merits as an art form. In Reading Photography, Sri-Kartini Leet brings together over 100 extracts from writings on different themes in the medium to explore the history of the art of photography.
Photography : an illustrated history by
Call Number: 770.9 S217p
Publication Date: 2002
Photography: An Illustrated History is a captivating account of how photography evolved from labor-intensive daguerrotypes in the mid-1800s to one of the most popular hobbies and respected art forms in the world today. Brimming with black-and-white and color photographs from throughout its multifaceted history, this volume not only documents technological developments, but also the phenomenal effect the craft has had upon journalism, industry, science, medicine, the military, and beyond. Featuring the accomplishments of pioneers such as Louis Daguerre, George Eastman, Julia Margaret Cameron, Alfred Stieglitz, Edward Steichen, Margaret Bourke-White, and others, Photography: An Illustrated History presents an engaging history of photography through some of the most spectacular images ever captured on film.
The Routledge Companion to Photography and Visual Culture by
Call Number: TR145 .R85 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge Companion to Photography and Visual Culture is a seminal reference source for the ever-changing field of photography. Comprising an impressive range of essays and interviews by experts and scholars from across the globe, this book examines the medium¿s history, its central issues and emerging trends, and its much-discussed future. The collected essays and interviews explore the current debates surrounding the photograph as object, art, document, propaganda, truth, selling tool, and universal language; the perception of photography archives as burdens, rather than treasures; the continual technological development reshaping the field; photography as a tool of representation and control, and more. One of the most comprehensive volumes of its kind, this companion is essential reading for photographers and historians alike.
Core curriculum : writings on photography by
Call Number: 770.11 P213c
Publication Date: 2011
"Core Curriculum: Writings on Photography" is the long-awaited collection of essays, reviews and lectures by Tod Papageorge, one of the most influential voices in photography today. As a photographer and the Walker Evans Professor of Photography at the Yale University School of Art, Papageorge has shaped the work and thought of generations of artist-photographers, and, through his critical writings--some of which have gained a cult following through online postings--he has earned a reputation as an unusually eloquent and illuminating guide to the work of many of the most important figures in twentieth-century photography. Among the artists Papageorge discusses in this essential volume are Eugène Atget, Brassaï, Robert Frank (with Walker Evans), Robert Adams and his close friend Garry Winogrand. The book also includes texts that examine the more general questions of photography's relationship to poetry, and how the evolution of the medium's early technologies led to the twentieth- century creation of the artist-photographer.