Librarian
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Continental Western Europe: National Libraries
- Hemeroteca Digital, for the Biblioteca Nacional de EspanaThe collection consists of 143 titles (500,000 pages) from a variety of the Spanish press. Dates range from 1772 to 1933.
- La presse quotidienne dans GallicaGrowing collection of French language newspapers
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) News Sources
CRL collects newspapers from all over the world. They also hold collections of scripts, transcripts, and translations of news reports, produced or compiled by the British Broadcasting Corporation, Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc, Foreign Broadcast Information Service, and the Voice of America.
United Kingdom
- 17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
- 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspaper CollectionFeatures the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian Libraries in Oxford, United Kingdom. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 have been digitized.
- The Times Digital ArchiveCoverage from 1785. Page down to Gale Cengage The Times Digital Archie.
- British Periodicals Online This link opens in a new windowThree part collection. This resource provides online access to 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. All titles are full text searchable and contain high-resolution facsimile page images.
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowCaribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands published in the 18th and 19th centuries. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, Caribbean Newspapers is the largest online collection of newspapers published in this region.
- Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Economist Historical Archive provides access to the full text of The Economist, the weekly British paper essential to knowledge in politics, current affairs and business and trade worldwide. The archive covers 1843-2020.
- Eighteenth Century JournalsNewspapers & periodicals 1699-1812 from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas.