It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northwestern students/faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges at Loyola; for more information on this program, including information on how to activate your reciprocal borrowing privileges, inquire at Northwestern Library’s circulation desk, or go to: http://www.library.northwestern.edu/circulation/privileges/loyola.html . Strengths include religious studies and philosophy.
The Newberry Library is one of the premier collections in the United States of primary source materials for the study of Early Modern Europe; the history of printing and publishing; American literature through the 1920s; and the history of the Americas, including of Native Americans. The Library houses outstanding collections in many aspects of the history of United States, especially the history of Chicago. A majority of the Newberry's holdings are listed in their online catalog, which can be accessed via the URL above, though you may need to visit the Newberry to find out the full scope of their holdings. The Newberry's collections do not circulate, so you must go down to the Library to use their materials. For information on access to the Newberry, please see their web site, or phone them. Also particularly useful are the detailed Newberry Library Collection Descriptions, available at http://www.newberry.org/collections/L3ccolldesc.html
Materials on Jewish religion and culture, including a vast array of reference materials. The Asher Library's Special Collections include rare books dating from the 15th to the 20th centuries. Additionally, Special Collections holds the Muriel Yale Collection of Rare & Antique Maps of the Holy Land and the Ottoman Empire, which is one of the largest collections of maps of that region.
The University of Chicago has extremely rich collections; consult their online catalog from the URL above. Northwestern students and faculty may obtain circulating University of Chicago library materials via interlibrary loan, or in person. Northwestern students/faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges; for more information on this program, including information on how to activate your reciprocal borrowing privileges, inquire at Northwestern Library’s circulation desk, or go to http://www.library.northwestern.edu/circulation/privileges/uofc.html
The University of Chicago houses collections across the humanities and social sciences, with exceptional strengths in South Asia, East Asia, and the Middle East. The Special Collections at the University of Chicago range widely from the middle ages to modern times and cannot be quickly summarized; the Special Collections Department Web site at http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/spcl/ provides a useful overview. For a list of the archival and manuscript collections in the Special Collections Department, see http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/spcl/findaid/mafa.html
Separate from the University of Chicago library system is the Oriental Institute Research Archives and Library http://oi.uchicago.edu/research/library/ with collections on the ancient Near East. Membership in the Oriental Institute is required ($50/year as an individual, $25/year as a student). 1155 East 58th Street, Chicago, IL 60637 (773) 702-9537.
University of Illinois at Chicago