Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19: Access to Materials
The Updates to Library Services page provides regular updates on resources and services. This website includes information on:
- Access to physical books
- Special collections and non-circulating materials
- Reservable study space
- Scanning and book pick-up
- Interlibrary loan
Digital versions of books are usually listed in NUsearch. From the drop-down menu, search using the "Books & Multimedia" tab or the "Books, Images, and More" tab, then check full record for format options.
For information on temporary access to digital books and other materials, some resources are below.
- The ACLS Humanities E-Book Project (HEB) has e-versions of thousands of history and other humanities books. Books that are accessible via HEB are searchable in NUsearch via title and/or author. These titles have a blank book icon on the left of the record and a link that reads ACLS Humanities E-Book. URL: http://www.humanitiesebook.org. Just click on the Online Access link in the NUsearch record.
- For information on the HathiTurst Emergency Access program, see HathiTrust Response to Covid-19 and the Library's Guide to Using HathiTrust. HathiTrust materials that are available via the Temporary Emergency Access are also listed in NUsearch (search by title under the Books, Images and More tab. The catalog record will indicate if full text is available.)
- Some publishers provide free access to materials. See Free Resources Available in Response to Covid-19.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Citations from more than 1,395 arts and humanities journals. Coverage includes archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Western European History: NU Research Guide
More comprehensive guide to resources for the study of the Western European past
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
Northwestern University Libraries and Resources