General Resources
- ICPSRThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. This is a good first place to start when looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
- Liber8 - Federal Reserve Bank of St. LouisEconomic information portal from the St. Louis Fed's Research Department. Provides economic information from the Federal Reserve System, government agencies, and other data providers.
- Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe Current Index to Statisticsprovides information aboutpublications in statistics, probability and related fields. References are drawn from 160core journals,selected articles from other journals with statistical content and books.
U.S. Sources
- Facts & Figures - Chronicle of PhilanthropyThis site allows you to explore data and surveys compiled by the Chronicle of Philanthropy's research team. Here you will find information about America's top donors, endowments, foundations, and fundraising (including a listing of the 400 charities that raise the most money through private sources).
- National Center for Charitable StatisticsEstablished in 1982, the NCCS is the national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society.
- Industries at a Glance - Religious, Grantmaking, Civic, Professional, and Similar OrganizationsThis site from the Bureau of Labor Statistics provides access to current and historical data covering workforce statistics; earnings and hours; fatalities, injuries, and illnesses; and workplace trends.
- An Overview of the Nonprofit and Charitable SectorThe nonprofit and charitable sector represents a significant portion of the U.S. economy. This report of the Congressional Research Service provides a concise summary of this highly diverse sector.
- Volunteering in the United StatesThe data in this release were collected through a supplement to the September 2009
Current Population Survey, a monthly survey of about 60,000 households conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The purpose of this supplement was to obtain information on the incidence of volunteering and the characteristics of volunteers in the United States. - Employment in America’s Charities: A ProfileThis report presents information on employment in America’s charities— the broad set of health, education, civic, scientific, and charitable organizations entitled to tax exemption under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Written by Lester M. Salamon and S. Wojciech Sokolowski at the Johns Hopkins Center for Civil Society Studies.
- Tax Stats - Charities & Other Tax-Exempt OrganizationsThis section of the IRS Web site contains statistical tables, articles, and other information on charities and other tax-exempt organizations.
- 2007 Economic CensusThe Economic Census develops a comprehensive portrait of American business every five years, from the national to the local level. Data set code: EC07
- Cultural Policy & the Arts National DataThe CPANDA archive is the world's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAuthoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowStandard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Covers a variety of topics, including population, labor, economics, and government. Chapter Bg covers Nonprofit, Voluntary, and Religious Entities. You can also do keyword searches to find information.
- Economic Report of the PresidentAnnual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. Provides an overview the nation's economic progress using narrative essays and extensive data appendices.
- Federal Reserve Bank of ChicagoThe Chicago Fed serves the Seventh Federal Reserve District, an economically diverse region that includes all of Iowa and most of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Wisconsin.
- Survey of Current BusinessDefinitive source of information about the nation's economic accounts. Articles present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates.
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- American Fact FinderThe Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing recent Census data. Data from the 2000 and 1990 Census, economic censuses since 1997, and the American Community Survey are also available here.
- DataInsightWeb(To access the database, select "Go to DataInsight WEB" on right hand side.) (One simultaneous user at a time - Please LOG OUT when finished.)
U.S. macroeconomic time series data including national income and product accounts, consumer and producer price indexes, money supply, interest and exchange rates, manufacturing and trade statistics, population and labor statistics, business conditions indicators, energy statistics, banking statistics, commodity prices, and other economic indicators from Federal and private organizations.
