Research Guides: .Philanthropy and Nonprofit Organizations: Articles

Google Scholar

Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.

Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.

Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
Maintained by the Foundation Center, this is a searchable database of the literature of philanthropy. The Catalog contains citations to materials collected by the Center's five libraries as well as selected literature from other sources. The Catalog was formerly known as Literature of the Nonprofit Sector. Be sure to check NUcat to see if NUL holds a copy of any items you find here.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts provides citations of current research focused on social work, human services, mental health services, social welfare, social policy, community development, and more. Covers 1979-present.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Index focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a comprehensive index to the literature of economics. This database provides citations to journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, working papers, dissertations, and book reviews, with selected abstracts and some full-text content. Covers the 1880s-present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) provides citations in social science and interdisciplinary research, with broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Subject areas include sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, ethnography, demography, education and more. 1951-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.

PolicyArchive
A project of the Center for Governmental Studies, PolicyArchive is a comprehensive, free digital library of public policy research providing access to thousands of research documents.
PubHub - Foundation Center
Search the Foundation Center's online catalog of research reports, case studies, issue briefs, literature reviews, and annual reports published or funded by U.S. foundations. Links to the full text reports are provided. Covers 1971-present.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.