Journal Article Databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychiatric Association, PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that provides online access to the DSM-5, the American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, and Academic Psychiatry, as well as textbooks, APA Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools, medication information handouts, and clinical and research news.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers 1945-present. Also includes the Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present).
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
- Annual Review of PsychologyAnnual edited volume of articles demonstrating the current trends in research and inquiry in the field of psychology, including biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology and more. Covers 1950-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowFamily & Society Studies Worldwide covers research, policy, and practice literature in family science, family studies, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers 1970-present.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
- Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new windowChild Development & Adolescent Studies contains citations on the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Provides worldwide, current and historical content in biomedicine and the social sciences. 1927-Present Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowDatabase sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
- Education Abstracts This link opens in a new windowEducation Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Covers 1983-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- JoVE BehaviorBehavioral Research Methods Videos
Psychology Dictionaries
Psychology dictionaries help to clarify terminology by providing definitions of terms. These can also be a good source of potential keywords for searches in the catalog or databases.
- APA Dictionary of Psychology.
Publisher: Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2007.
Location: MAIN Reference
Call Number: 150.3 A639 - The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology.
Publisher: Leiden: Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Online Access: click for full text - A Dictionary of Psychology.
Publisher: Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009.
Online: via click for full text - The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology. 3rd. ed.
Publisher: New York: Penguin Books, 2001.
Location: MAIN Core
Call Number: 150.321 R291p 2001
Online: via click for full text
Psychology Encyclopedias
Psychology encyclopedias provide background information on key concepts, theories and measures to help you better understand the field. Encyclopedia articles typically provide references to further readings where you can find additional detailed information on your topic.
- The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science.
Publisher: Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2005.
Online: via Credo Reference - Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories.
Publisher: Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2008.
Location: MAIN Reference
Call Number: 150.3 E49
Online: via Credo Reference - Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology.
Publisher: San Diego, CA: Elsevier, 2004.
Location: MAIN Reference
Call Number: L 158.03 E56
Online: via Credo Reference - Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment.
Publisher: Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2003.
Location: MAIN Reference
Call Number: 150.28703 E56 - International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences.
Publisher: Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2001.
Location: MAIN Reference
Call Number: 300.3 I61
Online: via Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subject Guide
Steven Adams
Contact:
Steven Adams
Librarian for Graduate and Postdoctoral Initiatives
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Librarian for Graduate and Postdoctoral Initiatives
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
(847) 467-2511
Related Guides
Be sure to also consult the Psychology subject guide and see these other guides for more help.