Research Guides: *Communication Sciences and Disorders: Getting Started

Key Resources

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Database This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles published in ASHA professional journals.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations with approximately 14,000 new references added every year. Coverage includes the fields of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window
The premier source of biomedical literature, a database produced by the National Library of Medicine, here with the OVID interface. Indexes articles from 1950 to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's interface to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Consensus This link opens in a new window
Free version which does not have all the features of the subscribed product.

First time users should register using email address ("Sign Up" button). For subsequent access, log in with email and password.

Consensus is a new academic search engine that uses artificial intelligence to surface relevant research findings to students' questions. Instead of delivering a list of links like a traditional search engine, Consensus finds contrasting or supporting evidence from academic papers to plain English research questions.
The Consensus search engine is built over the Semantic Scholar dataset that includes 200M peer-reviewed documents spanning across nearly all relevant domains. The results from a Consensus search are not meant to be taken as the final truth, instead they represent a snapshot of the relevant research related to your question.

Have a question about Consensus or want to request a feature? Contact us at support@consensus.app or use the in-product widget in the bottom right corner.

New - LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad browser extension

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that simplifies and streamlines access to the NU Libraries subscription resources. Adding this extension to your browser enables one-click access to full text of articles from publisher pages, PubMed, Google, Wikipedia, and more, with no need to start at the library website. If direct access is not available, it automatically loads and fills out the Interlibrary Loan request form for you.

Availability

LibKey Nomad is currently available for the following browsers:

Chrome
Firefox
Safari
Edge
Brave
Vivaldi

Installation

Installing LibKey Nomad is simple. Start with the link below to download the extension:

Download LibKey Nomad
Follow this link and choose your browser to add the LibKey Nomad extension. Example below is for the Firefox browser.

Once you have added LibKey Nomad to your browser, make sure to set your institution to Northwestern University.

Accessing PDFs and Full Text

Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.

Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.

Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.

Roxelyn and Richard Pepper Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Frances Searle Building
2240 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Phone: 847-491-3066
Fax: 847-491-4975
csd@northwestern.edu

Librarian

Steven Adams

Email Me

Contact:

Steven Adams
Librarian for Graduate and Postdoctoral Initiatives
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208

(847) 467-2511

Subjects: Cognitive Science, Communication Sciences and Disorders, Psychology

CSD faculty publications - PubMed

New articles from faculty in the Roxelyn and Richard Pepper Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders via PubMed.

Libraries | Research Guides

*Communication Sciences and Disorders

Library Services

Google Scholar

NUsearch