Your Librarian
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169
Company information
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to company overviews, business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles for private and public U.S and international companies.
- EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowBusiness news and intelligence, and company, industry, financial, economic and political information from emerging market countries in Latin America, Asia and Europe. Includes corporate profiles, financial statements, industry and analyst reports, capital market quotes and indices, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts, legal and regulatory information, and opinion polls.
- Orbis This link opens in a new windowHas financials for 90 million public and private companies worldwide as well as in-depth industry overviews. Tip: Key resource for company financials.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 6,000 US and foreign full-text news and business publications as well as reports, financials, stock quotes and other investment data on public companies. Some titles listed are not available to academic libraries.
Looking up industry-level information by NAICS codes
NAICS stands for North American Industry Classification System and consists of code numbers that are assigned to various industries, products and services and other business or non-profit activities.
You can search within many library databases, such as Business Source Premier and others, by limiting to specific NAICS codes in order to find articles or reports on that industry.
For example 522110=Commercial Banking industry.
Look up codes:
Census.gov NAICS
Industry Reports for overviews and background
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowBusiness reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
- EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new windowBusiness news and intelligence, and company, industry, financial, economic and political information from emerging market countries in Latin America, Asia and Europe. Includes corporate profiles, financial statements, industry and analyst reports, capital market quotes and indices, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts, legal and regulatory information, and opinion polls.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowDatabase of company reports. Industry reports can be found within company profiles, under "Industry Details"
- Investext (via Mergent Online) This link opens in a new windowEnter the site choose Industry Analysis. Then select any of the tabs such as Reports or Comparisons. Select your industry of interest.
- Gartner Intraweb This link opens in a new windowUse Advanced Search to limit to an industry. Covers tech-related industries as well as reports on technologies used within various spheres of business and electronic commerce.
Articles from trade journals, academic business journals, and news publications
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowUse the Advanced Search to limit to NAICs code or descriptive words related to industry. Includes
full text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals. - ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Market and consumer-focused research reports and data
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowCovers US, European and some Asian markets in the following: automotive, consumer lifestyles, food, household, media, retail, beauty, health, drink and tobacco, leisure, technology, clothing, electrical goods, travel, life stages, personal finances, and miscellaneous. Access restricted to current NU faculty, students and staff.
- Marketresearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports covering business services, consumer goods, food and beverages, demographics, heavy industry, life sciences and technology and media.
- Forrester This link opens in a new windowAnalyzes a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society.
Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis: Industry TopicsThe Dept of Commerce BEA collects data on the US economy
- Census.gov Business and Economy DataThe economic census is conducted every 5 yrs. 2022 files are partially complete.
Trade associations and organizations
- GoogleSearch on [name of industry] + association site:.org
- Encyclopedia of AssociationsSearch this source by an industry keyword or name to find professional associations or trade organizations.