Articles
The databases listed here will help you discover scholarly articles and other sources within a range of subject disciplines including English and Writing, Sociology, Social Policy, Communication, Economics, and general news.
NUsearch, (Find more details under the Books Tab) is another place to look for sources, including articles, books, and other materials.
Finding the article's full text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles. Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button 
among your database search results. Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article.
Social Policy / Law
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndex focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.
Communication and media studies
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowOffers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
General News
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
Multi-subject Article Databases and Search Tools
Setting up Google Scholar to link to articles available from Northwestern University Library
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. HINT: Click on the 3 lines in the upper left to get to Settings. Under Settings, go to LIbrary Links to set your search to "Northwestern University."
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Sociology
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Economics
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowEconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a comprehensive index to the literature of economics. This database provides citations to journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, working papers, dissertations, and book reviews, with selected abstracts and some full-text content. Covers the 1880s-present.