Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bet! - the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH)
The Society of Architectural Historians
The largest, most essential architectural history organization in the U.S. is the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH). Per their mission, the society promotes the study, interpretation, and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes, and urbanism worldwide for the benefit of all.
Architectural History Libraries, Archives, and Research Centers
The Ryerson & Burnham Libraries
The Ryerson & Burnham Libraries constitute a major art and architecture research collection serving The Art Institute of Chicago and scholars in the fields of art and architectural history. The collections hold more than 500,000 print titles, including the Percier and Fontaine Collection of 17th-19th century architectural books.
The Northwest Architectural Archives
A repository at the University of Minnesota's special collections library for the records of architects, engineers, contractors, landscape architects, interior designers, academics, and local professional societies from the Midwest region with works that extend throughout the United States and the world.
Canadian Center for Architecture (CCA)
The Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) is an international research centre and museum with an extensive (non-circulating) library. It was founded in 1979 as a new form of cultural institution to build public awareness of the role of architecture in society, promote scholarly research in the field, and stimulate innovation in design practice.
Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library
The scope of the Avery collection in architecture is outstanding; it ranges from the first Western printed book on architecture, De re aedificatoria (1485), by Leone Battista Alberti, to the classics of modernism by Frank Lloyd Wright and Le Corbusier. Avery's drawing and archives collection holds approximately 1,500,000 drawings and original records.
International Archive of Women in Architecture
Established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech, the Archive documents the history of women's contributions to the field of architecture by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of women in the field.
Architectural History Research Websites and Reference Sources
The Ancient City of Athens
A photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece), intended primarily as a resource for students and teachers and as a source of images for use in term papers, projects, and presentations.
Archinform International Architecture Database
An online database with information on more than 65,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners, mainly 20th century. You can look up projects by architect, town, or keyword, and results are presented in a wiki-style form.
Open access to a set of resources related to the built environment of the Muslim world.
Built Works Registry
70,000 openly accessible and shareable core records for works of architecture and the built environment compiled by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, Artstor, and the Getty Research Institute.
Centre des Etudes Chartraines
Christopher Crockett's 2002 "Home on the Web for Chartres-Related Scholarship".
Directory of African American Architects
Maintained as a public service to promote an awareness of who African American architects are and where they are located, sponsored by the Center for the Study of Practice at the University of Cincinnati.
Domestic Interiors Database
A scholarly research tool that includes textual and visual sources and points the researcher towards analytical issues associated with representing the interior since the Renaissance in Western Europe and North America.
Documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, selected by the editors of ArchitectureWeek magazine.
The International Archive of Women in Architecture's IAWA Biographical Database
Documents women's involvement in architecture and landscape architecture, industrial and interior designer, and urban planning from around the world.
The Pritzker Architecture Prize
Includes a directory with information on all past winners of this prestigious annual prize.
Histories, photographs, and maps for more than 2000 structures in 710 cities and 20 states selected by the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH).
A commercial site that provides profiles of selected architects, searchable by country, region, and role, especially useful for finding information on architectural firms around the world.
Chicago Architectural History Projects
The Chicago chapter of the American Institute of Architects sponsors many Chicago architecture projects and programs and publishes the magazine Chicago Architect six times per year as an authoritative resource for architects, the larger design community, and the public about architecture and related issues of interest to Chicago architects.
Chicago Architecture Foundation (CAF)
A non-profit public architecture organization founded in 1966 that promotes Chicago architecture through tours, programs, exhibitions, field trips, curricula and online tools.
Chicago Architects Project
Chicago Architects Project (CAP) is an ongoing and evolving research project illustrating the relationships among architects, their mentors and their proteges within the Chicago area. The goal is to create a dynamic online diagram showing these relationships that can be utilized by architects, historians and students.
The Burnham Plan Centennial
A wealth of resources on Daniel Burnham's Plan of Chicago, the Columbian Exposition, and Chicago’s built environment and urban and regional planning in general, created at the University of Chicago with others in 2009.
ATLAS and the Classicizing Chicago project
From the Northwestern-based editors: "The Classicizing Chicago Project is rooted in the field of 'classical receptions studies.' ATLAS delivers snapshots of this dialogue between present and past across media and time, but within the city of Chicago and its environs. Through our current illustrated short-form essays, and the audio, video, and walking tours we plan to develop, we map the moments, places, and ways in which classical antiquity and Chicago constantly redefine each other."
Architecture Image Collections (also on the Find Images tab of this guide)
Here are several collections of specifically architectural images:
Over 85,000 digital images from the British Architectural Library. All can be purchased or licensed through the website, and low resolution images can be downloaded for non-commercial private study or research.
Cities and Buildings Database
A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world begun in 1995 by the University Libraries at the University of Washington.
American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920
A study collection from the Harvard Graduate School of Design with multiple views of 1088 buildings and sites.
Asian Historical Architecture
24,700 photos of 964 sites in twenty-one countries, with background information and virtual tours
Architecture-related collections from the Library of Congress (also found in the Flickr Commons):
Organizations For Practicing Architects
The American Institute of Architects
Based in Washington, D.C., the AIA has been the leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners since 1857. They have nearly 300 state and local chapters.
The Royal Institute of British Architects
Founded in 1834 for "…the general advancement of Civil Architecture, and for promoting and facilitating the acquirement of the knowledge of the various arts and sciences connected therewith…," RIBA could be described as the British counterpart of the AIA.
Daily architecture news sites
The journal of the American Institute of Architects (see this page, bottom left corner) has a busy website and daily newsletter of its own.
As a very popular, commercial site with lots of advertising, Curbed.com is still a valuable source of architecture news, particularly for contemporary events, and it can be scoped to concentrate on certain cities (Chicago, New York, LA, New Orleans...)
ArchDaily was founded in March 2008, as an online source of information for architects searching for the latest architectural news: projects, products, events, interviews and competitions among others.
Their RSS feed: