Skip to main content

Music Research: Music Special Collections

This research guide helps you to navigate various in-print and online music resources for your upcoming performances, papers and projects.

Accessing Music Rare Materials

It's easy to gain access to Music Special Collections. With just a few simple steps, you could examine the John Cage manuscripts, scores with Fritz Reiner's conductor markings and much more. 

Steps to Access Music Special Collections

1. Explore the Manuscript and Archive Collections and/or the General Manuscript Collection (call number range 'MSS'). 

2. If you're interested in a manuscript or archive collection, take note of the collection name, box and folder numbers. 

3. If you're interested in an item(s) from the General Manuscript Collection, take note of the call number. 

4. Email us at  musiclibrary@northwestern.edu to set up an appointment to view the materials (usually) within one to two business days. 

5. Have questions about the materials, or a specific collection, email Greg MacAyeal (Curator, Music Library).

Working with Non-Digital Media Formats

The Music Library offers the use of an audio cart that includes LP, cassette and CD playback, as well as options to transfer files into an MP3 format. 

The audio cart may be reserved for use up to four hours. Please email us at musiclibrary@northwestern.edu to request an appointment to use the cart. 

For further information please refer to the how-to guide regarding the Music Library's audio cart (https://libguides.northwestern.edu/musicaudioplayback). 

Copyright Notice

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of audio reproductions of copyrighted material. The person using this equipment is liable for any infringement.

Curator, Music Library

Greg MacAyeal's picture
Greg MacAyeal
Contact:
Music Library
Deering, 2nd floor
847-491-4233
g-macayeal@northwestern.edu