Learn how to look for music in our collection, find music articles, access streaming audio databases, answer music copyright questions and more!!!
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2014
Use this guide to help you employ the many resources the Music Library has to offer. Let the tabs running accross the top lead you to specific areas. If you need help, don't hesitate to ask.
The Music Library is located in the Deering Library on the 2nd floor. Use the Deering Library entrance (west side) or enter from the main library - walk left past the Information Commons to get to Deering.
Maps and Directions
Northwestern University Music Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
Northwestern's library catalog is used to find books, journals, scores, sound recordings, video recordings, and all other library materials held by NU
- Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, as well as Grove Music Online, the cornerstone of Oxford's online music reference collection.
- Oxford History of Western Music
A survey of the traditions of western music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, this book illuminates, through a representative sampling of masterworks, those themes, styles, and currents that give shape and direction to each musical age.
- Guide to Finding Music Manuscripts in NUcat
This guide shows you how to set limits in NUcat to make finding music manuscripts easier
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMPFT) is an outstanding resource used to find articles in music journals. It enables you to access articles on a comprehensive variety of musical subjects, styles, and genres. Covers 1874-present.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U. S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of master’s theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.