Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19: Access to Materials
The Updates to Library Services page provides regular updates on resources and services. This website includes information on:
Digital versions of books are usually listed in NUsearch. From the drop-down menu, search using the "Books & Multimedia" tab or the "Books, Images, and More" tab, then check full record for format options.
For information on temporary access to digital books and other materials, some resources are below.
- The ACLS Humanities E-Book Project (HEB) has e-versions of thousands of history and other humanities books. Books that are accessible via HEB are searchable in NUsearch via title and/or author. These titles have a blank book icon on the left of the record and a link that reads ACLS Humanities E-Book. URL: http://www.humanitiesebook.org. Just click on the Online Access link in the NUsearch record.
- For information on the HathiTurst Emergency Access program, see HathiTrust Response to Covid-19 and the Library's Guide to Using HathiTrust. HathiTrust materials that are available via the Temporary Emergency Access are also listed in NUsearch (search by title under the Books, Images and More tab. The catalog record will indicate if full text is available.)
- Some publishers provide free access to materials. See Free Textbooks and Other Resources in Response to Covid-19.
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly (though not exclusively) from North American libraries, containing over 2,000,000,000 records from over 10,000 libraries.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Citations to articles covering the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400 to 1700 A.D.) in Europe.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
International Medieval Bibliography
Provides citations to articles, conferences proceedings and essays in medieval history. Covers all aspects of the Middle Ages and includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 CE to 1500 CE. Select "International Medieval Bibliography" from the menu of the Brepols Medieval database collection.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in numerous fields of the humanities and social sciences, including history. Coverage varies for each title.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of approximately 140 research institutions with Google, the HathiTrust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site. For more information on searching Hathi, see http://libguides.northwestern.edu/hathi
Association of College & Research Libraries European Studies Research Guides
Guides on resources in all areas of humanities and social sciences, by individual country/topic.