Subject Specialist
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Library Catalog
Key Resources
- Bibliography of British and Irish HistoryThe Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
- Digital Dissertations (ProQuest)Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master’s theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or ima
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineBibilographies of topics in the Atlantic history, classics, criminology, Islamic studies, philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, and social work. With introductions to each topic area, and including guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites
- Western European History: NU Research GuideIncludes more comprehensive guide to resources for the study of the Western European past
- Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.
- Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History DeclassifiedThe Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.