Key Resources
- American bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian studies This link opens in a new window ABSEES (The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies), produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications, with publication dates from 1989 to current, on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union, published in the United States and Canada.
- East View Universal Databases This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of various collections of periodicals, newspapers and other items from Russia, Central Asia, and other regions. Retrospective date coverage varies by individual title. Includes access to publications such as Pravda, Nezavisimaia gazeta, Literaturnaia gazeta, Voprosy literatury, Voprosy filosofii, Voprosy istorii, Isskustvo kino, and Novyi mir, as well as collections like the Current Digest of the Russian Press, Demokratychna Ukraina Digital Archive, Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Periodicals, Periodicals of Central Asia & the Caucasus, and East View E-books, a collection of scholarly books across the fields of literature, politics, and other subjects.
- Demokratychna Ukraina Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Demokratychna Ukraina (Демократична Україна, Democratic Ukraine) underwent dramatic transformation in the wake of the August 1991 coup attempt against Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev. In addition to changing the name of the newspaper, Demokratychna Ukraina began publishing in Ukrainian and altered its editorial policies to allow and,encourage journalism that valued democratic ideas. Content from Jan. 3 1992-Feb. 7, 2020. Suspended in 2020. content from Jan. 3 1992-Feb. 7, 2020
- Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Periodicals This link opens in a new window The goal of this database is to provide researchers with a unique opportunity to cross-search the contents of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities. It is comprised of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles are added on a regular basis. This Universal Database grows retroactively. Full-text and full-image content of print editions is reproduced with original pagination.
- Russian Institute of Social Sciences Publications This link opens in a new window Journals, review journals, and bibliographies from a leading Russian research center The Russian Institute of Social Sciences Publications (UDB-INION) collection includes a number of publications from the renowned Institute of Scientific Information for Social Sciences of the Russian Academy of Sciences (INION). Created in 1969 as a successor to the Russian Academy’s Fundamental Library of Social Sciences, INION is a well-known center for research in social studies and humanities in Russia. UDB-INION presents all periodical publications of the institute, as well as reference indexes, bibliographies, and analytical reports, from 2018 on. - Publisher
- Russian National Bibliography (East View) This link opens in a new window A State bibliographical index of the Russian Federation informs its readers about articles in journals and newspapers that appear in print in Russia in Russian language. Includes Stat'i iz rossiiskikh gazet (formerly Letopis' gazetnykh statei), and Stat'i iz rossiiskikh zhurnalov (formerly Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei). Coverage begins with 2016.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window A partnership of 140+ research libraries, with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Kresge Centennial Hall, Room 3-305
1880 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2204
Phone: 847-491-5636
Fax: 847-467-2596
E-mail: slavic@northwestern.edu
Department website:
http://www.slavic.northwestern.edu/
Russian, Eurasian, and East European Studies Research Program
- REEES Research ProgramWCAS Center for International and Area Studies
Your Librarian
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169