Showing 25 Databases
Best Bets!
ABSEES (The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies), produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications, with publication dates from 1989 to current, on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union, published in the United States and Canada.
This database provides cross searchable full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include over 20 newspapers, popular and scholarly periodicals.
Includes the full text of a selection of Russian newspapers, literary publications, and cultural journals. Includes access to publications such as Pravda, Nezavisimaia gazeta, Literaturnaia gazeta, Voprosy literatury, Voprosy filosofii, Voprosy istorii, Isskustvo kino, and Novyi mir, as well as the Current Digest of the Russian Press and East View E-books, a collection of scholarly books across the fields of literature, politics, and other subjects.
A State bibliographical index of the Russian Federation informs its readers about articles in journals and newspapers that appear in print in Russia in Russian language. Includes Stat'i iz rossiiskikh gazet (formerly Letopis' gazetnykh statei), and Stat'i iz rossiiskikh zhurnalov (formerly Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei). Coverage begins with 2016.
Additional Databases
Formerly known as the Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press, this news digest presents a weekly selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research, and so are presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the journal publisher. Date coverage is from 1949 to current.
EBSEES covers European scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. Date coverage is from 1991 to 2007.
This database presents citations from prominent art history periodicals indexed by the Frick Art Reference Library (FARL) from 1850-1969. Covers European and American fine arts and some decorative arts through the 20th century.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Click on "Enter: no registration" then click on "Artefact" to search news. A Russian archive consisting of more than 500 million documents in more than 7,000 databases, with 40,000 new documents being added daily, in addition to thousands of full-text Moscow and regional newspapers, magazines, archives of news wires, business and law databases, encyclopedias and dictionaries. Date coverage is dependent on publication but extends from the early 1990s to current.
Provides citations to articles, conferences proceedings and essays in medieval history. Covers all aspects of the Middle Ages and includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 CE to 1500 CE. Select "International Medieval Bibliography" from the menu of the Brepols Medieval database collection.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Abstracts and indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations with approximately 14,000 new references added every year. Coverage includes the fields of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Provides citation to articles and books covering the history of Eastern and Central Europe.
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Includes English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese, Arabic and Portuguese.
The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. The sources are mostly in Russian and English and cover various issues of domestic and international importance. AP-Blitz, an information agency, offers its daily newsline, Tajikistan News in Brief. Another important publication from the same region is The Times of Central Asia, a business weekly published in Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan). A notable feature of the database are the journals published by the Center for Economic Research in Tashkent (Uzbekistan). Their content covers critical analytical and statistical data on the economic dynamics of Uzbekistan society, changes in social and economic development of Uzbekistan. The present database is a great reference tool for scholars, businessmen, investors, field experts and students. It contains news, data on state structure, political, legislative, judicial system, indicators on all sectors of economy and more. Many titles have a rich archive going back to 2000. – Publisher
Access is usually to the last 3 months of issues, but coverage varies.
Provides access to over 7,000 titles from 100+ countries in 60+ languages, on desktop computers, tablets and mobile devices.
Provides access to over 7,000 titles from 100+ countries in 60+ languages, on desktop computers, tablets and mobile devices.
Not all content is available full text to Northwestern community.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
This database is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.
Journals, review journals, and bibliographies from a leading Russian research center The Russian Institute of Social Sciences Publications (UDB-INION) collection includes a number of publications from the renowned Institute of Scientific Information for Social Sciences of the Russian Academy of Sciences (INION). Created in 1969 as a successor to the Russian Academy’s Fundamental Library of Social Sciences, INION is a well-known center for research in social studies and humanities in Russia. UDB-INION presents all periodical publications of the institute, as well as reference indexes, bibliographies, and analytical reports, from 2018 on. - Publisher
Includes over 85,000 images of documents from the National Archives, highlighting the post-World War II period in Yugoslavia.
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
The Stalin Digital Archive provides access to primary source materials from Stalin's personal papers and monographs on communism, including papers focusing on the foreign policy with Germany before World War II, communications during the Great Purges, relations with Western intellectuals and leaders, and private notations on many Soviet leaders.
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
No blog posts have been assigned to this subject.
Search
Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.
Slavic Experts
Your Librarian
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169