Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean brings together a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean, including academic journals, news-feeds, reference articles and commentary, maps, statistics, audio and video, and much more. The database covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology of the region, presented on a country and continent level.
The American Slavery Collection addresses every facet of American slavery by providing access to the American Antiquarian Societys holdings of slavery and abolition materials published over the course of more than 100 years. The digitized materials include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera.
Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867, documenting the realities of slavery at the most immediate local level and with amazing candor.
This resource includes works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's including books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Included are 29,000 works based Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.