Research Guides: AF_AM_ST_101-6: Slavery, Race, and the Law in the Americas (Bryant): Collections

Musuems

International Slavery Museum
Liverpool's International Slavery Museum highlights the international importance of slavery, both in a historic and contemporary context. Working in partnership with other museums with a focus on freedom and enslavement, the museum provides opportunities for greater awareness and understanding of the legacy of slavery today. Includes "The History of the Transatlantic Slave Trade."
New York Historical Society
-Examination Days: NY African Free School Collection
-NY Divided: Slavery & the Civil War
-Slavery in New York
Captive Passage
Transatlantic Slave Trade & the Making of the Americas, from The Mariners' Museum, Newport News, VA
Lapidus Center for the Historical Analysis of Transatlantic Slavery
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL, Harlem, NY

Focus on Women

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of womens activism in public life.
Women and Social Movements, International 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on womens international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of womens international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, diary entries, and memoirs. It contains numerous online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations and also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of womens international social movements.

Open Access

1853 Richmond and its Slave Market
Overview of auction houses and slave jails. Digital Scholarship Lab, University of Richmond.
African Nova Scotians in the Age of Slavery and Abolition
Nova Scotia Archives exhibit on 10,000 Black people came to Nova Scotia between 1749 and 1816, as noted in 1783 "Book of Negroes".
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
2,300 accounts and 500 photographs of former slaves, collected in the 1930s by the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration, microfilmed in 1941 as the 17 vol. "Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves."
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
This site from the Library of Congress provides open access to many Congressional documents from 1774-1875.
Digital Library on American Slavery
Race and Slavery Petitions Project; NC Runaway Slave Advertisements; Slave Deeds of North Carolina; Slavery Era Insurance Registries; etc. at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies
Vanderbilt University digitazation project related to Africans, Afro-descended peoples, Chinese and indigenous groups. Over 400,000 documents from Brazil, Colombia, Cuba and the U.S.
Freedmen and Southern Society Project
Established in 1976 to select resources in the National Archives, hosted by University of Maryland.
Freedom on the Move
Database of fugitives from North American slavery.
Georgetown Slavery Archive
Materials relating to the Maryland Jesuits, Georgetown University, and slavery.
Lapidus Center for the Historical Analysis of Transatlantic Slavery
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL, Harlem, NY
Legacies of British Slave-ownership
University College London's projects tracing the impact of slave-ownership on the formation of modern Britain: the ESRC-funded Legacies of British Slave-ownership project, now complete, and the ESRC and AHRC-funded Structure and significance of British Caribbean slave-ownership 1763-1833, running from 2013-2015.
Legacy of Slavery in Maryland
Maryland State Archives electronic publication.
President's Commission on Slavery & the University
University of Virginia
Revealing Histrories: Remembering Slavery
Revealing Histories is a partnership of eight museums and galleries in Greater Manchester. We came together in 2007 to commemorate the bicentenary of the abolition of the British slave trade in 1807 and to explore the legacy of slavery in our collections, in our communities and in our region. Slavery is part of our shared history that still impacts on our lives today.
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
In 1870, Rev. Samuel Joseph May's materials went to Cornell U. Library, documenting anti-slavery struggles. Sermons, position papers, offprints, newsletters, anthologies, freedmen's testimonies, broadsides, and Anti-Slavery Fair keepsakes document the abolitionist movement.
Slave Narratives: Chronological List of Autobiographies
Slavery & Abolition in the US
First person narratives, legal proceedings & decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works from Millersville University & Dickinson College libraries.
SlaveryStories.org
Open source collaboration led by Scholastica of slave narratives and interviews.
Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860
Spread of U.S. Slavery, 1790–1860
Interactive map by Lincoln Mullen, using U.S. Census Data.
Transatlantic Slave Trade
Resources from UNESCO.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade database
Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages.
Yale Slavery and Abolition Portal
Guide to primary sources related to slavery, abolition, and resistance within Yale University's libraries and galleries.