Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide from the University of Northern Iowa can help you think through your options for choosing a topic.
Topics in the News
You can find more topic ideas in the Access World News (Newsbank) database. On the database homepage click the buttons for Hot Topics and Special Reports.
Topic brainstorming and testing
This University of Texas resource guides you from brainstorming a topic to scoping it to see if it's too broad or too narrow.
"Picking Your Topic Is Research!" (video with transcript)
Not getting good search results? You might need to adjust your topic. This 3-minute video by NC State University Libraries shows you how.
The resources to the right will help you get started in researching.
Whenever you access NU Library's online resources you will need to supply your NetID and password and complete the multi-factor authentication step. This takes just a few moments and then you are good to go!
Some suggested keywords to use in searching this topic are:
- happiness and health
- happiness in art
- happiness in economics
- happiness in literature
- happiness in motion pictures
- happiness in philosophy
- happiness in politics
- happiness or well being
- happiness studies
NU Library has rich resources but sometimes the item you want is checked out, missing, lost, or is held by another university or institution. If this is the case, use NU's Interlibrary Loan service to request a journal article, book chapter, book, video, or other item that is currently not available at NU. Articles and book chapters will be scanned and emailed to you; physical items will be mailed directly to your home. Use the link above to submit your request.
NU Library online catalog
NUsearch is the University's online catalog. Here you can search for books, journals, videos, and more, in both print and electronic formats.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Use the Suggested Topics section on the landing page to brainstorm for subject ideas.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
New York Times
This link to the NYT via the ProQuest database lets you search all the Times content from 1851 to present.
Use this link to access major newspapers online.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.