Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using These Tools
These materials can provide a source of background information as well as additional readings. They can also be a good place to start when you are beginning research in an area you are unfamiliar with.
Happiness: Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
This work is published by The Metaphysics Research Lab, Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI), Stanford University. Tip: see the entry on Happiness, by Dan Haybron.
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
Global Handbook of Quality of Life by
Publication Date: 2015-01-22
This handbook provides a comprehensive historical account of the field of Quality of Life. It brings together theoretical insights and empirical findings and presents the main items of global quality of life and wellbeing research.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture by
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world's social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes.
The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology by
Publication Date: 2011-10-07
To search within this particular book, use the search box in the middle of the page, left side (ignore the Sign In button above the search box and just type your search terms in the box). To broaden your search, use the search box at the top of the screen, on the right (this searches all Oxford Handbooks).