Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Angela Davis: An Autobiography by
Publication Date: 1974
Angela Davis has been a political activist at the cutting edge of the Black Liberation, feminist, queer, and prison abolitionist movements for more than 50 years. First published and edited by Toni Morrison in 1974, An Autobiography is a powerful and commanding account of her early years in struggle.
Doing Time: Twenty-Five Years of Prison Writing by
Publication Date: 1999-05-20
Doing Time brings together fiction, essays, and poems by 51 writers, and evokes a range of prison experience that is unusual in its personal news; there is a groping authenticity of language here that encourages us to think again about prison life.
Letters from Prison by
Publication Date: 1969
A compilation of the Black radical Martin Sostre’s correspondence from Erie County Jail, Buffalo, New York and Green Haven Prison, Stormville, New York
The Prison Narratives of Jeanne Guyon by
Publication Date: 2011
This book presents the first-ever English translation of the Prison Narratives written by the seventeenth-century French mystic and Quietist, Jeanne Guyon (1648-1717).
Prison Notebooks by
Publication Date: 1947
Antonio Gramsci (1891-1937) is widely celebrated as the most original political thinker in Western Marxism and an all-around outstanding intellectual figure. Arrested and imprisoned by the Italian Fascist regime in 1926, Gramsci died before fully regaining his freedom.
Prison Writing of Latin America by
Publication Date: 2018
What happens inside Latin American prisons? How does the social organisation of prisoners relate to the political structures beyond the walls? Is it possible to resist corrupt penal regimes? In Prison Writing of Latin America, Joey Whitfield turns to those best placed to answer these questions: people who have been imprisoned themselves.
Prison Writings: My Life is My Sun Dance by
Publication Date: 1999
Incarcerated for the last twenty-four years, the Native American activist shares his life story, as well as philosophical views on prison and how it has affected him.
Soledad Brother by
Publication Date: 1970
A collection of Jackson's letters from prison, Soledad Brother is an outspoken condemnation of the racism of white America and a powerful appraisal of the prison system that failed to break his spirit but eventually took his life.
For more books written by incarcerated people, please begin by browsing this search of the library catalog.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
American Prison Newspapers will brings together hundreds of prison periodicals from across the country into one collection representing penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
American Prison Writing Archive
A fully searchable digital archive of non-fiction essays by writers among America’s 2.2 million imprisoned people. It is also open to prison staff and volunteers who bear witness to current prison conditions.
The Freedom Archives contains thousands of audio and video recordings as well as print materials which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Inside Books Project Archive
In addition to incarcerated people's submissions, the archive also includes Inside Book Project's past newsletters, zines, event flyers, and photos of the collective from 1998 to present. Another collection in the archive is book denial documents from prison mail-rooms (forms sent to us when books or resources we sent are banned and destroyed) which preserves important historical evidence of censorship practices in the U.S.
This website is dedicated to providing an open-access archive of historical publications produced by incarcerated people in Canada
Barring Freedom highlights the roles of art, music, visual culture and the radical imaginary in engaging issues of prisons, policing, and abolition in the United States. Organized by UC Santa Cruz Institute of the Arts and Sciences, Barring Freedom features a contemporary art exhibition at San José Museum of Art and a participatory public art project, Solitary Garden.
Marking Time: Art in the Age of Mass Incarceration
This major exhibition explores the work of artists within US prisons and the centrality of incarceration to contemporary art and culture. Featuring art made by people in prisons and work by nonincarcerated artists concerned with state repression, erasure, and imprisonment.
American Prison Writing Archive
The American Prison Writing Archive is a place where imprisoned people and prison staff can write about and document their experience. It is a site where all who live or work inside can bear witness to what is working and what is not inside American prisons, thus grounding public debate about the American prison crisis in lived experience.
Captured Words / Free Thoughts
Captured Words/Free Thoughts offers testimony from America’s prisons and prison-impacted communities and represents a national coalition of educators, activists, and artists.
In the Belly
In the Belly is a journal by and for people who are held captive by the Prison-Industrial Complex. For people whose lives are impacted, determined, and overshadowed by punishment and incarceration daily: prisoners & their families, loved ones, friends, communities and comrades.
Prison Journalism Project
We aim to give a relevant voice to a marginalized, incarcerated community so they can contribute to discussions about criminal justice reform.
This journal will publish poetry, stories, essays and visual art reflecting on incarceration with a different type of sentence.
A zine filled with articles, essays, poetry and art by formerly and currently incarcerated women across the United States.
A World Without Cages
A World Without Cages imagines the end of mass incarceration and migrant detention by bringing together the work of writers on the inside and on the outside.
English & Digital Humanities Librarian