Research Guides: Online Resources (STEM): Online Selected STEM Databases

Online STEM Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Coverage: 1960 - current .
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts contains citations for more than 700 core English-language, scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
ASM Alloy Center Database This link opens in a new window
The database let you search more than 123,000 alloy designations, specifications, standards, and commercial grades in the U.S. and globally. It includes five content areas: Alloy Finder, Coatings Data, Corrosion Performance Data, Data Sheets & Diagrams, and Materials Property Data.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database This link opens in a new window
Database of more than 40,300 binary and ternary phase diagrams for more than 2400 inorganic systems.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Volumes from the the ASM handbook series presented together in an online format.
ASTM Standards This link opens in a new window
The Libraries will purchase ASTM standards for faculty and students upon request when the standard is used as part of current Northwestern course of study and research. Subject to funding availability, the request is limited to one standard per week per faculty or per student group. Please follow the link to complete the request form. Northwestern email address is required.

ChemAnalyst
Track real-time price movement of 250+ chemical and petrochemical products

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
CRC CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Compilation of chemical databases. Includes access to The Combined Chemical Dictionary; The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics; Polymers: A Property Database; Properties of Organic Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs; Dictionary of Food Compounds; Dictionary of Marine Natural Products; and Dictionary of Natural Products.
Ecoinvent database This link opens in a new window
Ecoinvent versions 1 through 3.3 contain thousands industrial processes in the following sectors: energy, transport, building materials, chemicals, washing agents, paper & board, agriculture and waste management. Data is presented as both unit processes (raw data) and calculated results (systems).
Embase This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village comprises three databases: Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel. Together they provide research literatures in all engineering disciplines, earth sciences, physics, electrical engineering, computers and computing, and information technology, Knovel provides access to the full-text and interactive content of thousands of ebooks in many different engineering areas. Three databases can be searched independently.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences.The database includes references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
InnovationQ Plus This link opens in a new window
InnovationQ is a powerful, user-friendly intellectual property analytics tool that helps you understand and optimize your companys intellectual property.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Inspe is a bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science and Engineering Collection brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a database that offers access to reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

Open Textbooks for Engineering
A list of open textbooks compiled by the Engineering Library Division of American Society of Engineering Education

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical information, including property data of chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Interface to and content of the databases of Beilstein (commonly known as Crossfire Beilstein) and Gmelin.
SciFinder-N / SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Online version of Chemical Abstracts database includes citations to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, reviews, and technical reports.

SciFinder: first time users registration

Scopus This link opens in a new window
One of the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
A database allows materials scientists and related scientists to identify materials and their properties. It is the most comprehensive collection of data in the fields of physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, materials science, and related fields.
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
A tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods. It brings together content from SpringerProtocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols and Protocol Exchange.
Toxicology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, engineering, technology and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.
Wiley Database of Polymer Properties This link opens in a new window
Contains experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook.

e-Book and e-Journal Collections

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window

Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

ACS e-Journals

Provides online access to the journals published by the American Chemical Society.
AGU (American Geophysical Union)

A database covering publications by AGU.
AIP e-Journals

Provides online access to journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies
ASCE Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers ASCE documents published since 1970.
ASME e-Journals

American Society of Mechanical Engineering journals
Biomed Central Open Access Journals

BioMed Central publishes 292 peer-reviewed open access journals.
GeoScienceWorld

A comprehensive Internet resource for research across the geosciences, built on a database of peer-reviewed journals and integrated with GeoRef.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window

Has full-text access to all IEEE and IET journals and conference proceedings in engineering, chemistry, social sciences, business, finance, economics, transportation, life sciences & healthcare, education, environment, geosciences, and much more.
INFORMS Online This link opens in a new window

Access to journals published by INFORMS, a society representing professionals in the fields of operations research and management sciences.
IOP (Institute of Physics)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines. While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
OSA Publishing This link opens in a new window

OSA Publishing is a web-based repository of optics research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window

A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines.
SIAM Journals Online This link opens in a new window

Provides access to the electronic editions of the research journals published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window

Contains full-text papers on optics and photonics from SPIE journals and proceedings published since 1990.
Springer E-Journal Collection

Springer E-Journal Collection provides a selection of English language e-journals available from 2005 to the present in all subject categories.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Provides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in all disciplines. Northwestern University Library access varies by title.

Your Librarian

Anna Ren

Contact:

Mudd Library
2233 Tech Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Phone: 847-491-2910

Subjects: Earth and Planetary Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Environmental Studies, Patents and Standards

STEM Librarian

Becca Greenstein

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Mudd Library, Room 2168
847-467-6606

Email is the best way to get in touch with me as I work from home some days. I'm happy to send you resources over email, meet via Zoom, or meet in person

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Mathematics, Statistics and Data Science (WCAS)