Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Transportation Library supports the students and faculty of the Transportation Center and the Center for Public Safety. Containing more than 500,000 items, we are one of the largest transportation information centers in the world, encompassing information on all modes of transportation including air, rail, highway, pipeline, water, urban transport, and logistics.
Reference staff are available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Northwestern University Transportation Center (NUTC) is a leading interdisciplinary education and research institution serving industry, government, and the public with substantive and enduring contributions to the movement of materials, people, energy, and information.
Find Books and Articles
Transportation Library Collections
Use the Transportation Library Collection tab to do a global search for all Transportation Library books, journals, EIS', journal articles, digital collections and more.
Transportation Articles Database
Use the Transportation Articles Database to search for transportation and police journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more.
Produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board, TRID is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, covering all modes of transportation.
The world's most comprehensive catalog of library holdings, particularly (though not exclusively) from North American libraries, containing over 2,000,000,000 records from over 10,000 libraries.
Make an Appointment
The Transportation Library staff is here to serve the information needs of the Northwestern University community with individual research appointments and user education for classes. Contact us to schedule an appointment.
Selected New Books in the Transportation Library
Handbook of Automotive Human Factors by
Call Number: TL250 .H285 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Improvement in technology enables us to design these with greater flexibility and provide greater valuable to the driver (human centered design). Research is required by laboratories, automobile and auto parts manufacturers. There has been a lot of effort in human factorsresearch and development, starting from basic research to product development, the knowledge and experience has not been integrated optimally. The goal of this handbook is to collect and review the information for researchers, designers and developers to learn and apply them for further study and development. This book offers valuable lessons to apply the right approach to the right place. Various chapters provide readers with discussions on: the history of automotive ergonomics, methodologies to understand the driver, experiences of sound design, discusses human centered design and the characteristics and modeling of the driver's habits. Key Selling Points: Comprises up-to-date literature on human factors, e.g. ADAS, Automated driving, amenity, driver's state, driver model etc. Provides basic information for designing and evaluating current and future vehicles Includes scientific findings and their practical uses p;lt;LI>Comprises up-to-date literature on human factors, e.g. ADAS, Automated driving, amenity, driver's state, driver model etc. Provides basic information for designing and evaluating current and future vehicles Includes scientific findings and their practical uses
Automotive Innovation: The Science and Engineering behind Cutting-Edge Automotive Technology by
Call Number: TL240 .H655 2020
Publication Date: 2019
Automotive Innovation: The Science and Engineering behind Cutting-Edge Automotive Technology provides a survey of innovative automotive technologies in the auto industry. Automobiles are rapidly changing, and this text explores these trends. IC engines, transmissions, and chassis are being improved, and there are advances in digital control, manufacturing, and materials. New vehicles demonstrate improved performance, safety and efficiency factors; electric vehicles represent a green energy alternative, while sensor technologies and computer processors redefine the nature of driving. The text explores these changes, the engineering and science behind them, and directions for the future.
Vehicle Feedback and Driver Situation Awareness by
Call Number: TL250 .W348 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A potentially troubling aspect of modern vehicle design - some would argue - is a trend towards isolating the driver and reducing vehicle feedback, usually in the name of comfort and refinement but increasingly because of automation. There can be little doubt cars have become more civilised over the years yet, despite this, the consequences on driver behaviour remain to a large extent anecdotal. Readers of this book will have heard such anecdotes for themselves. They usually take the form of drivers of a certain age recalling their first cars from the 1970's or 80's, in which "doing 70mph really felt like it". The question is whether such anecdotes actually reflect a bigger, more significant issue that could be better understood? Related questions have been explored in other domains such as aviation, where the change to 'fly-by-wire', for example, did indeed bring about some occasionally serious performance issues which were not anticipated. Despite some clear parallels automotive systems have been left relatively unexamined. The research described in this monograph aims to explore precisely these issues from a Human Factors perspective.
Parking and the City by
Call Number: HE336 .P37 P36 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Donald Shoup brilliantly overcame the challenge of writing about parking without being boring in his iconoclastic 800-page book The High Cost of Free Parking. Easy to read and often entertaining, the book showed that city parking policies subsidize cars, encourage sprawl, degrade urban design, prohibit walkability, damage the economy, raise housing costs, and penalize people who cannot afford or choose not to own a car. Using careful analysis and creative thinking, Shoup recommended three parking reforms: (1) remove off-street parking requirements, (2) charge the right prices for on-street parking, and (3) spend the meter revenue to improve public services on the metered streets. Parking and the Cityreports on the progress that cities have made in adopting these three reforms. The successful outcomes provide convincing evidence that Shoup's policy proposals are not theoretical and idealistic but instead are practical and realistic. The good news about our decades of bad planning for parking is that the damage we have done will be far cheaper to repair than to ignore. The 51 chapters by 46 authors in Parking and the Cityshow how reforming our misguided and wrongheaded parking policies can do a world of good.