Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library and Information Science: Articles

This guide links to sources on trends, best practices, and research in the fast changing field of academic librarianship.

Key Resources

Articles by Topics

Baker, G., & Tenopir, C. (2006). Managing the Unmanageable. Journal of Library Administration, 44(3-4), 11-24. doi: 10.1300/J111v44n03_03

Blake, K., & Stalberg, E. (2009). Me and My Shadow: Observation, Documentation, and Analysis of Serials and Electronic Resources Workflow. Serials Review, 35(4), 242-252. doi: 10.1016/j.serrev.2009.08.018

Brown, C. C., & Meagher, E. S. (2008). Cataloging free e-resources: is it worth the investment? Interlending & Document Supply, 36(3), 135-141. doi: 10.1108/02641610810897845

Cole, L. (2005). A Journey into E-Resource Administration Hell. The Serials Librarian, 49(1-2), 141-154. doi: 10.1300/J123v49n01_05

Crothers, S., Prabhu, M., & Sullivan, S. (2007). Electronic Journal Delivery in Academic Libraries. The Acquisitions Librarian, 19(1-2), 15-45. doi: 10.1300/J101v19n37_03

Curran, M. (2006). Separate or Single. The Serials Librarian, Vol. 49(No. 4), pp. 31–38. doi:  10.1300/J123v49n04_02

Graves, T., & Arthur, M. A. (2006). Developing a crystal clear future for the serials unit in an electronic environment: Results of a workflow analysis. Ser. Rev., 32(4), 238-246. doi: 10.1016/j.serrev.2006.09.003

Jansen, H. (2006). Permanent access to electronic journals. Information Services & Use, 26(2), 129-134.

Johnson, P. (2007). Continuous Process Improvement. Technicalities, 27(6), 2-4.

Morris, S. E., & Grimes, M. (1999). A great deal of time and effort: An overview of creating and maintaining Internet-based subject guides. Library Computing, 18(3), 213-216.

Nisonger, T. E. (1997). Electronic journal collection management issues. Collection Building, 16(2), 58-65. doi: 10.1108/01604959710164377

Odlyzko, A. (1999). Competition and cooperation: Libraries and publishers in the transition to electronic scholarly journals. doi: arXiv:cs/9901009

Rupp-Serrano, K., Robbins, S., & Cain, D. (2002). Canceling print serials in favor of electronic: criteria for decision making. Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services, 26(4), 369-378. doi:  10.1016/S1464-9055(02)00274-9

Skaggs, B. L., Poe, J. W., & Stevens, K. W. (2006). One-stop shopping: a perspective on the evolution of electronic resources management. OCLC Systems & Services, 22(3), 192-206. doi: 10.1108/10650750610686243

Srivastava, S., & Taglienti, P. (2005). E-journal Management: An Online Survey Evaluation. Serials Review, 31(1), 28-38. doi:  10.1016/j.serrev.2004.12.002

**Task Force A on Serials Acquisitions/Serials Cataloging/Serials Receipts: Workflows, Workloads, Practicies, Organization – Final Report. (2005).

Tonta, Y. (2005). Internet and electronic information management. Information Services & Use, 25(1), 3-12.

Zhang, X. (2003). Notes on Operations: Combining Traditional Journal Check-in and Claiming Activities with Electronic Journal Initiation and Maintenance Activities. Library Resources & Technical Services, 47(4), 208-214.

** Full text is not available electronically

**Borin, J., & Yi, H. (2008). Indicators for collection evaluation: a new dimensional framework. Collection Building, 27(4), 8. doi: 10.1108/01604950810913698

Chamberlain, C., & MacAlpine, B. (2008). Pay-per-view article access: a viable replacement for subscriptions? Serials: The Journal for the Serials Community, 21(1), 30-34. doi: 10.1629/2130

Mortimore, J. M. (2006). Access-Informed Collection Development and the Academic Library. Collection Management, 30(3), 21-37. doi: 10.1300/J105v30n03_03

Vidmar, D. J., Berger, M. A., & Anderson, C. J. (1998). Fee or free? Computers in Libraries, 18(5), 26.

White, G. W., & Crawford, G. A. (1997). Developing an electronic information resources collection development policy. Collection Building, 16(2), 53-57. doi: 10.1108/01604959710164368

 

** Full text is not available electronically

Abell, A., Chapman, D., Phillips, P., Stewart, H., & Ward, S. (2006). Roles in the e-landscape: Who is managing information? Business Information Review, 23(4), 241-251. doi:  10.1177/0266382106072249

Hardesty, S., & Sugarman, T. (2007). Academic Librarians, Professional Literature, and New Technologies: A Survey. Journal of Academic Librarianship, 33(2), 196-205.

Heye, D. (2006). Creativity and innovation. Business Information Review, 23(4), 6. doi: 10.1177/0266382106072255

Locke, E. A. (1991). THE MOTIVATION SEQUENCE, THE MOTIVATION HUB, AND THE MOTIVATION CORE. ORGANIZATIONAL BEHAVIOR AND HUMAN DECISION PROCESSES, 50(2), 288-299.

Lubans, J., Jr. (2009). The Spark Plug: A Leader's Catalyst for Change. Library Leadership & Management, 23(2), 88-90.

Luzius, J., & Ard, A. (2006). Leaving the Academic Library. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 32(6), 593-598. doi:  10.1016/j.acalib.2006.06.004

Nolin, J., & Åström, F. (2010). Turning weakness into strength: strategies for future LIS. Journal of Documentation, 66(1), 7-27. doi:  10.1108/00220411011016344

Opperman, B. V., & Jamison, M. (2008). New roles for an academic library: current measurements. New Library World, 109(11/12), 559-573. doi:  10.1108/03074800810921368

**Resnick, T. (2009). Core Competencies for Electronic Resource Access Services. Journal of Electronic Resources in Medical Libraries, 6(2), 101-122. doi:  10.1080/15424060902932185

Ruschoff, C. (2007). Competencies for 21st Century Technical Services. Technicalities, 27(6), 1-16.

Sen, B. A. (2010). Reflective writing: a management skill. Library Management, 31(1/2), 79-93. doi:  10.1108/01435121011013421

Shepstone, C., & Currie, L. (2008). Transforming the Academic Library: Creating an Organizational Culture that Fosters Staff Success. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 34(4), 358-368. doi:  10.1016/j.acalib.2008.05.008

Smith, I. (2008). People management - be bold! Library Management, 29(1/2), 18-28. doi:  10.1108/01435120810844612

Tillman, H. N. (2002). Evaluating Quality on the Net. http://www.hopetillman.com/findqual.html

Thull, J., & Hansen, M. A. (2009). Academic library liaison programs in US libraries: methods and benefits. New Library World, 110(11/12), 529-540. doi:  10.1108/03074800911007541

Williamson, J. M., Pemberton, A. E., & Lounsbury, J. W. (2008). Personality traits of individuals in different specialties of librarianship. Journal of Documentation, 64(2), 273-286. doi:  10.1108/00220410810858056

** Full text is not available electronically

**Fisher, W. & Leonard, B. “Budgeting for Information Resources: Current Trends and Future Directions.” Collection management for the 21st century : a handbook for librarians. Gorman, G. E., & Miller, R. H. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1997.

Kent, P. G. (1999). Pricing and Paying in the Electronic Information Environment. Paper presented at the Information Online & On Disc 99 : The Ninth Austalasian Conference and Exhibition, Darling Harbour, Sydney Australia. http://conferences.alia.org.au/online1999/proceedings99/pricing-kent.html

Meckes, R. (2007). Pricing in Academic Publishing: A wake-up call to the online era. Information Services & Use, 27(4), 221-228.

Montgomery, C. H. (2000). Measuring the Impact of an Electronic Journal Collection on Library Costs: A Framework and Preliminary Observations. D-Lib Magazine, 6(10). doi: 10.1045/october2000-montgomery

Sakalaki, M., & Kazi, S. (2007). How much is information worth? Willingness to pay for expert and non-expert informational goods compared to material goods in lay economic thinking. Journal of Information Science, 33(3), 315-325. doi: 10.1177/0165551506070709

**Stanley, N. M. (1995). Purchasing Electronic Resources. The Acquisitions Librarian, 7(13-14), 153-163. doi:  10.1300/J101v07n13_11

Sutton, J. (2001) The Cost of Knowing. Brown Alumni Magazine,  2001(March/April)37-41.

** Full text is not available electronically

Bailey, C. J. (2008). Institutional Repositories, Tout de Suite. http://www.digital-scholarship.org/ts/irtoutsuite.pdf

Cate, F. H. (2006). The Privacy and Security Policy Vacuum in Higher Education. Educause Review, 41(5), 19-28.

**Chen, C.-C., & Chen, A.-P. (2007). Using data mining technology to provide a recommendation service in the digital library. Electronic Library, The, 25(6), 23. doi:  10.1108/02640470710837137

Hauer, M. (2006). Retrieval quality of library catalogues and new concepts. A comparison. Information Services & Use, 26(3), 241-248.

Kelly, B. (2005). RSS – MORE THAN JUST NEWS FEEDS. New Review of Information Networking, 11(2), 219-227. doi: 10.1080/13614570600573425

Milstead, J., & Feldman, S. (1999a). Metadata. Online, 23(1), 24.

Milstead, J., & Feldman, S. (1999b). Metadata projects & standards. Online, 23(1), 32.

Pesch, O. (2007). Usage statistics: About COUNTER and SUSHI. Information Services & Use, 27(4), 207-213.

Seadle, M. (2008). Copyright in the networked world: the technology of enforcement. Library Hi Tech, 26(3), 498-504. doi:  10.1108/07378830810903454

**Watson, P. (2006). Who Will Keep Print in the Digital Age? Current Thinking on Shared Repositories. ALCTS PAPERS ON LIBRARY TECHNICAL SERVICES AND COLLECTIONS, 13, 117.

Xu, F. (2009). Implementation of a Federated Search System: Resource Accessibility Issues. Serials Review, 35(4), 235-241. doi:  10.1016/j.serrev.2009.08.019

** Full text is not available electronically

Antelman, K. (1999). Web lists and the decline of the library catalog. Library Computing, 18(3), 189-195.

Bell, S. J. (2009). The Library Web Site of the Future @insidehighered. Inside Higher Ed. Retrieved from Inside Higher Ed website: http://www.insidehighered.com/views/2009/02/17/bell - sthash.6mmbDjWB.dpbs

Brindley, L. (2006). Re-defining the library. Library Hi Tech, 24(4), 484-495. doi:  10.1108/07378830610715356

Campbell, J. D. (2006). CHANGING A CULTURAL ICON THE ACADEMIC LIBRARY AS A VIRTUAL DESTINATION. Educause Review, 41(1), 16-30.

Casey, M. E., & Savastinuk, L. C. (2006). LIBRARY 2.0. (Cover story). Library Journal, 131(14), 40-42.

CNI. An Introduction & Program Plan 2010-2011. Retrieved from Program Plan Archive website: http://www.cni.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/2010-2011-program.pdf

Dempsey, L. (2006a). The ( Digital) Library Environment: Ten Years After. Ariadne(46).

Dempsey, L. (2006b). Libraries and the Long Tail: Some Thoughts about Libraries in a Network Age. D-Lib Magazine, 12(4). doi: 10.1045/april2006-dempsey

Donovan, J. M. (2008). Skating on Thin Intermediation: Can Libraries Survive? Legal Reference Services Quarterly, 27(2-3), 95-116. doi: 10.1080/02703190802398581

Giannakopoulos, G. A. (2008). In search of integrated information. Education for Information, 26(2), 113-119.

Hallmark, E. K., Schwartz, L., & Roy, L. (2007). Developing a long-range and outreach plan for your academic library: The need for a marketing outreach plan. College & Research Libraries News, 68(2), 92-95.

Jones, E. (2006). Pushing the Digitization Dialogue Forward: 'Scholarship and Libraries in Transition' at the University of Michigan. Journal of Electronic Publishing, 9(2). doi:  10.3998/3336451.0009.204

**Kajewski, M. (2007). Emerging technologies changing our service delivery models. Electronic Library, The. doi: 10.1108/02640470710779835

Mason, J., Mitchell, S., Mooney, M., Reasoner, L., & Rodriguez, C. (2000). INFOMINE: Promising Directions in Virtual Library Development. First Monday, 5(6), 28 paragraphs. doi: 10.5210/fm.v5i6.763

Pace, A. (2009). 21st Century Library Systems. Journal of Library Administration, 49(6), 641-650. doi: 10.1080/01930820903238834

Rogers, C. (2009). There Is Always Tomorrow? Libraries on the Edge. Journal of Library Administration, 49(5), 545-558. doi: 10.1080/01930820903090938

Saumure, K., & Shiri, A. (2008). Knowledge organization trends in library and information studies: a preliminary comparison of the pre- and post-web eras. Journal of Information Science, 34(5), 651-666. doi: 10.1177/0165551507084300

Staley, D. J., & Malenfant, K. J. (2010). Futures thinking for academic librarians: Higher education in 2025. Information Services & Use, 30(1/2), 57-90. doi: 10.3233/ISU-2010-0614

Troll, D. A. (2001). How and Why Are Libraries Changing? none. Retrieved from Digital Library Federation website: http://old.diglib.org/use/whitepaper.htm

Wolven, R. (2008). In Search of a New Model. Library Journal, 133, 6-9.

Chowdhury, S., Landoni, M., & Gibb, F. (2006). Usability and impact of digital libraries: a review. Online Information Review, 30(6), 656-680. doi: 10.1108/14684520610716153

**Clark, D. T., Goodwin, S. P., Samuelson, T., & Coker, C. (2008). A qualitative assessment of the Kindle e-book reader: results from initial focus groups. Performance Measurement and Metrics, 9(2). doi: 10.1108/14678040810906826

Coker, G. (2007). Usability in emerging e-content environments. Information Services & Use, 27(4), 179-184.

Curran, K., Murray, M., Norrby, D. S., & Christian, M. (2006). Involving the user Through Library 2.0. New Review of Information Networking, 12(1/2), 47-59. doi: 10.1080/13614570601136263

Gilman, I., & Kunkel, M. (2010). From Passive to Pervasive: Changing Perceptions of the Library's Role through Intra-Campus Partnerships. Collaborative Librarianship, 2(1), 22-32.

Graybill, J. O. (2014). Millennials among the Professional Workforce in Academic Libraries: Their Perspective on Leadership. Journal of Academic Librarianship, 40(1), 10-15. doi: 10.1016/j.acalib.2013.09.006

Kani-Zabihi, E., Ghinea, G., & Chen, S. Y. (2006). Digital libraries: what do users want? Online Information Review, 30(4), 395-412.

McDonald, R. H., & Thomas, C. R. (2006). Disconnects Between Library Culture and Millennial Generation Values. Educause Quarterly, 29(4).

Sörensen, A. (2006). From copyright to access rights? How public policy might shape industry strategies. Information Services & Use, 26(2), 185-189.

Sykes, J. (2007). IMPROVING THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE - HOW CAN THE LIBRARY HELP? New Review of Information Networking, 13(1), 23-30. doi: 10.1080/13614570701571468

Tenopir, C. (2006). Building bridges to information products and services. Information Services & Use, 26(3), 213-221.

Bosch, S. (2005). Buy, Build, or Lease: Managing Serials for Scholarly Communications. Serials Review, 31(2), 107-115. doi:  10.1016/j.serrev.2005.03.005

Harnad, S., Brody, T., Vallières, F., Carr, L., Hitchcock, S., Gingras, Y., . . . Hilf, E. R. (2008). The Access/Impact Problem and the Green and Gold Roads to Open Access: An Update. Serials Review, 34(1), 36-40. doi:  10.1016/j.serrev.2007.12.005

Hitchcock, S. (2003). Metalist of Open Access E-Print Archives: The Genesis of Institutional Archives and Independent Services. ARL: A Bimonthly Report on Research Library Issues & Actions(227), 4-11.

Lund University launches Directory of Open Access Journals. (2003). ARL: A Bimonthly Report on Research Library Issues & Actions(227), 3-3.

Prosser, D. (2003). On the Transition of Journals to Open Access. ARL: A Bimonthly Report on Research Library Issues & Actions(227), 1-3.

McGinty, J. (2008). Enhancing Building Security: Design Considerations. Library & Archival Security, 21(2), 115-127. doi: 10.1080/01960070802201474

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
John Blosser
Contact:
847 491-2933