Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Economic Commission for Latin America & the Caribbean (ECLAC or CEPAL)
CEPAL promotes and supports economic and social development through regional and subregional cooperation and integration. It works to gather, organize, interpret and disseminate information and data relating to the economic and social development of the region.
World Bank Data for Latin America and the Caribbean
Includes data on GDP, population, school enrollment, C02 emissions, and life expectancy, among other indicators.
Latin American Public Opinion Project
LAPOP is an ongoing survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas. Sponsored by Vanderbilt University.
Latin American Electronic Data Archive
LAEDA seeks to collect, preserve, and provide access to data sets relevant to Latin American research, policy analysis, and teaching. The focus of the collection is on electoral data, household surveys, and data relevant to education in Latin America.
Latin American Migration Project (LAMP)
LAMP is a multidisciplinary research project investigating migration flows originating in Latin American countries, including Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Haiti, Peru, and Guatemala.
Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Data Base
Economic and Social History Programme, of the Universidad de la República, Montevideo, and the Latin American Centre and the Department of International Development, Oxford University. Contains economic and social indicators covering 20 countries for the twentieth century up to today.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
The Socio-Economic Database for Latin America and the Caribbean (CEDLAS and the World Bank) includes statistics on poverty, inequality, income and other socio-economic variables for the 24 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Web site for online analysis of the Latinobarómetro. Provides summary level public opinion data for Latin America for the period 1995-2011, excluding 1999.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through this single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
Finding Newspaper Articles from Latin America
The databases for Latin American newspapers are ordered below from most historical to most current.
World Newspaper Archive
This is a searchable collection of 19th and 20th century historical newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and South Asia. The collection of Latin American newspapers is historical, and all issues are from the 19th century.
Access World News
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
Nexis Uni features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
Factiva provides access to over 6,000 US and foreign full-text news and business publications. Factiva also includes reports, financials, stock quotes and other investment data on public companies. Some titles listed are not available to academic library users. These titles cannot be blocked from the title list.
Online access to hundreds of newspapers from more than 90 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. This collection is very current, going back only 90 days.
Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico
Published by UNAM and the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico, this database includes page images and full-text search of nearly 600 titles ranging from 1722 to 1978. Material still covered by copyright is accessible only at the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico.
Hemeroteca Digital Brasileiria
Sponsored by the National Library of Brazil, this database includes page images and full-text search of titles from the 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. In Portuguese.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is supported by the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. Coverage varies but covers the 20th to 21st century.
Google Maps' site of the world's online newspapers sites. Find & translate some 10,000 newspapers. Content updated daily.
The databases below are for news on or by the Latino/Hispanic diaspora in the United States.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
A compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Ethnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times (1851-2013), Wall Street Journal (1889-2000), Washington Post (1877-2000), Los Angeles Times (1881-2012), Chicago Tribune (1849-2011), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Boston Globe (1872-1985), and many others.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press / University of Arizona
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Young Lords Newspaper Collection
In the 1950's, a variety of ethnic groups resided in the Lincoln Park area and by the early 1960's a substantial Puerto Rican community was established around the south-western borders of the neighborhood. At this time, Orlando Davila formed the Young Lords to counter the mounting antagonism against Puerto Ricans by other youth gangs. In 1964, Jose (Cha-Cha) Jimenez assumed the leadership of the Young Lords. In the late 1960's the Young Lords directed their activities to the social and economic concerns that were prevalent in the Puerto Rican community of Lincoln Park. The various newspapers published by the organization document their concerns and their actions.
Intelligence/Business News and Government Publications
Business news and intelligence, and company, industry, financial, economic and political information from emerging market countries in Latin America, Asia and Europe. Includes corporate profiles, financial statements, industry and analyst reports, capital market quotes and indices, macroeconomic statistics and forecasts, legal and regulatory information, and opinion polls.
Personal registration using Northwestern email address required to export data.
Confidential Print. Latin America, 1833-1969
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government 1820-1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. Confidential Print: Latin America covers the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
NEW: Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties. – Publisher
Provides access to documents recording activities and decisions of the United Nations and its constituent bodies, e.g. General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, etc. Searches will also retrieve information about publications from other UN organizations including the Environment Program, the Economic Commissions (African, Latin America, Asia, etc.) and much more. 1945-present.
Organization of American States (OAS)
The Organization’s four main pillars––democracy, human rights, security, and development––support each other and are intertwined through political dialogue, inclusiveness, cooperation, and legal and follow-up instruments that provide the OAS with the tools to maximize its work in the Hemisphere.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Good for depth of coverage. Edited thematic collections of over 35,000 declassified documents obtained through the FOIA. Twelve collections -- Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis 1958-1962, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, and South Africa.
Political Database of the Americas
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with organizations and entities in the region.The PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region. Updated to 2006.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes Constituciones Hispanoamericanas
Constitutions, judicial documents, and other governmental texts organized by country.
Selected Bibliography of US Govt and International Documents on Latin America and the Caribbean
Assembled by the Government Documents Round Table of the American Libraries Association, this bibliography includes five sections – a) United States government resources, b) government websites of Latin American and Caribbean countries, c) data, statistics, and statistical resources from Latin American and Caribbean government resources, d) international, intergovernmental organizations, and non-governmental organizations, and e) libraries and academic resources.
World Bank eLibrary for Latin America and the Caribbean
Includes working papers, books, chapters, and journal articles on economics, development, poverty, and resources in Latin America and the Caribbean.