Research Guides: *Latin American Studies: Find Scholarly Articles

Searching for Articles

There are several places to find scholarship on or from Latin America. Northwestern University Libraries subscribes to several large databases which may include English-language scholarship on or from Latin America. Check "Getting Started" Tab on this Research Guide, and/or the Research Guides for Anthropology, English, History, Latino Studies, Political Science, Sociology, and/or JSTOR for lists of general disciplinary databases for each subject. Below are more specialized resources in Spanish, Portuguese, and English for Latin American Studies.

Open Access Scholarship from Latin America

Open access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the right to use those articles freely in the digital environment. Anyone can access them; anyone can use them (SPARC, 2016). Latin America and Spain were two of the world's earliest adopters of open access research models, and on this guide there are several open access portals for research from Latin America, including SciELO (originally from Brazil, founded in 1998), Redalyc (founded in Mexico), and Latindex. The Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de CLASCO works across open access platforms from throughout the region to provide bibliographic citations for articles, essays, book reviews, editorials, interviews, and other kinds of documents. More information about open access in Latin America can be found at the links below.

Browse Journals for Latin American Studies

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles in Latin American Journals

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the U.S. Covers 1970-present.
HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
Indexes materials published in Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English specializing in the social sciences, humanities, and science and technology. Contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

LatAm-Studies Full Text Plus
LatAm-Studies is a paid resource for social sciences and humanities research from about 46 countries in the Latin American and the Caribbean regions. The studies cover a wide variety of specific topics such as finance, literature, environment, history, law and culture.
Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de CLACSO
Single search database for Redalyc, Scielo, LatIndex, RevistALAS, DOAJ, Dialnet, and CLASE, sponsored by el Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales.

SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online This link opens in a new window
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries. It contains about 500 journals and nearly 150.000 articles published in Latin America, Caribbean countries, Portugal and Spain. Most of the titles are Open Access.

REDALYC
Maintained by the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), this open access online portal includes peer-reviewed and journal articles on the social sciences and humanities from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.
Latindex
Latindex is an open access portal for scientific journals, technical and professional research published in the countries of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Latindex began in 1995 at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM).
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Indexes articles appearing in Open Access journals. As of September 2015, from a total of 10,529 Open Access journals registered in DOAJ, approximately 2000 journals are from Latin America and the Caribbean, of which around 1000 journals are from Brazil.
CLASE
CLASE es una base de datos bibliográfica creada en 1975 en la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). Ofrece alrededor de 350 mil registros bibliográficos de artículos, ensayos, reseñas de libro, revisiones bibliográficas, notas breves, editoriales, biografías, entrevistas, estadísticas y otros documentos publicados en cerca de 1 500 revistas de América Latina y el Caribe, especializadas en ciencias sociales y humanidades.
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents
The Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents database, or LAPTOC, provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009.
Latin American Open Archives Portal
Access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web."

Full-Text Journals on Latin America

Hispanic American Historical Review
Published in cooperation with the Conference on Latin American History of the American Historical Association.
Latin American Research Review
Interdisciplinary journal that publishes original research and surveys of current research. Current in print at Main Library Stacks 980.05 L3575.
Bulletin of Latin American Research
Original research of current interest on Latin America, the Caribbean, inter-American relations and the diaspora in the social sciences and humanities.
Journal of Latin American Studies
Recent research in development studies, economics, geography, history, politics and international relations, public policy, sociology and social anthropology.
Latin Americanist
As the oldest continuously published Latin American Studies journal, includes comprehensive, tri-lingual coverage—including history, literature, political science, and anthropology.
Latin American Perspectives
Focuses on the political economy of capitalism, imperialism, and socialism in the Americas.
Latin American Antiquity
Latin American Antiquity is one of the principal journals of the Society for American Archaeology. Available online to 2013. Current in print at Main Library Stacks 980.012 L357.
Latin American Politics and Society
Latin American Politics and Society publishes the highest-quality original social science scholarship on Latin America. Current in print at Main Library Stacks 980.05 J86.
Google Scholar - Top publications for Latin American Studies