Using Interlibrary Loan in times of COVID-19
The databases provide indexing to journal articles, many of which NUL will have full-text access to, but some we may not have access to. We have these indexes so you can all the articles on a given subject, regardless of whether the library pays for full-text access. Many databases, including JSTOR and Project Muse, are only full-text databases, but other databases, such as Historical Abstracts, provide only some full-text. In that case, if you don't see a PDF of an article available for download, click the 
button to find the full-text. If the article is not available in another full-text database, you can request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Note: Our Interlibrary Loan department is currently working remotely, so we can't scan or send any print materials, including print books. The same is true at other universities. However, if an article is available electronically from another institution, we may be able to get it. Please make an ILL request and we will try to fulfill it!
Search for books available online
- NU SearchTo search for e-books we have available through the library, search for keywords (see "Find Background Sources" tab), and then limit your format to "Books," and the availability to "Full text online."
- NU Search - HathiTrust/JSTOR books on forgeryThe library has temporary access to very large collections of e-books from HathiTrust, a historical full-text database, and JSTOR. You can search just this collection by clicking on the radial button at the top of NUSearch, "HathiTrust/Jstor Online E-Books."
Journals for Art and Forgery or Fraud
- The Journal of Art CrimeIn the Art & Architecture Source database, each issue of this journal includes academic essays and books and exhibition reviews, conference write-ups, capsule summaries of major recent art crimes; and editorial columns.
- Heritage: open access journal of knowledge, conservation and management of cultural and natural heritageAn international peer-reviewed open access journal of cultural and natural heritage science published quarterly by MDPI.
- Cadernos do LEPAARQ : textos de antropologia, arqueologia e patrimônio.In Portuguese: O periódico Cadernos do LEPAARQ é uma publicação semestral eletrônica do Laboratório de Ensino e Pesquisa em Antropologia e Arqueologia, do Instituto de Ciências Humanas, mantido pela Universidade Federal de Pelotas (LEPAARQ/ICH/UFPEL).
- Tarea : anuario del Instituto de Investigaciones sobre el Patrimonio Cultural.In Spanish. This Argentine journal focuses on cultural property issues.
Databases of scholarly articles
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source provides indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering topics, including art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world and all periods of time. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective 1929-1984 covers content from more than 600 publications, many of which are peer reviewed, including periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Materials include feature articles, interviews, film reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, reproduction of works of art, notices of competitions and awards and letters to the editor, as well asover 25,000 book reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowNot all content is available full text to Northwestern community.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.