Texts for the course
There are two texts for this course temporarily available online via HathiTrust.
The Search for the Codex Cardona by Call Number: Temporary online access provided by HathiTrustISBN: 9780822345961Publication Date: 2009-12-03- The Piltdown forgery byCall Number: Temporarily online access provided by HathiTrustPublication Date: 1955
Prof. Gillingham's suggested readings
Keywords
To search the library databases with the most success, it's best to create a word bank of keywords for you to use when you're searching. For this research assignment, some of the keywords that might resonate most with your projects are:
- artifact or artefact
- forgery or fraud
- art crime
- authenticity and/or representation
- cultural heritage and protection
- cultural patrimony or cultural property
- mexic* (captures mexico/mexican)
Online reference tools
- Search JSTOR for Book ReviewsIn an advanced search in JSTOR, you can do a keyword search for your topic, but also select to narrow by "Item Type" to "Reviews."
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxfords partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
