Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Discover the full panoply of American regional words, phrases, and pronunciations with DARE. This digital edition features audio, interactive maps, and insights into the DARE Survey.

A collection of this often reviled but endlessly fascinating area of the English language, these volumes cover slang from the past five centuries right up to the present day, from all the different English-speaking countries and regions.

Literally, a place for words; in particular, a speaker's platform, or an archive, Logeion is an open access dictionary comprised of many sources including, the Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources, Perseus Digital Library, and other reference works, textbooks, and collections.

The dictionary by Merriam-Webster is America's most trusted online dictionary for English word definitions, meanings, and pronunciation.

The world's largest searchable database of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. An invaluable resource for lexicographers, language scholars, and all scholars in medieval studies.

The Online Etymology Dictionary is a free online dictionary, written and compiled by Douglas R. Harper, that describes the origins of English-language words.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words—past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Presents broad coverage and in-depth critical analysis of multiple aspects of the English literary landscape from the early sixteenth to the mid-seventeenth centuries. Featuring over 400 clear and accessible entries on a wide range of writers and literary topics.

A comprehensive reference resource covering British artistic, literary, and intellectual movements from the late eighteenth century to the early nineteenth century, within the context of European, transatlantic, and colonial historical and cultural interaction.

An authoritative reference resource of up to date scholarship featuring hundreds of entries written by an international team of scholars. Arranged in three volumes covering British and Irish fiction, American fiction, and World fiction, the entries cover major writers and their works; the genres and sub-genres of fiction (including crime fiction, sci fi, chick lit, the noir novel, and the avant garde novel); and the major movements, debates, and rubrics within the field.

An indispensable research tool for medievalists of all disciplines. Based upon the most important encyclopaedia in the world for medievalists (published in German between 1977 and 1999), LexMA’s 36,700 signed articles written by 3,000 authors covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500.

Includes more than 240 entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

An extensive guide to the lives of influential poets writing in English, in Britain and around the world, illuminating the influences, inspirations, and movements that have shaped the lives and works of our best-loved poets. It provides over 1,400 thoroughly revised and updated entries on modern poets active from 1910 to the present day.

Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.

A vital tool for students and researchers. The content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Researchers can browse by subject, movement, or place in order to discover connections between key topics and fields.

Biography in Context delivers nearly a million biographical entries across time and place. In it you will find 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals from a variety of reference sources, with 50,000 new or updated bios added annually. Searchable by occupation, birthplace, death place, and nationality.