Digitized collection of over 1,200 yellowbacks in its collection. At more than 4,000 books, Emory's yellowback collection is the second largest in the United States.This site features some of the digitized yellowbacks, available to download and read as a PDF.

Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth and includes verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, and frontier plays.

Contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Contains full text of more than 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.Includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Contains stories, folktales, and short fiction by African, African American, and Caribbean authors.

Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives a view of black women's struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings.

Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.

Collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Also features journals, reference works, and interviews with key writers.

This collection of Middle English texts was assembled from works contributed by University of Michigan faculty and from texts provided by the Oxford Text Archive, as well as works created specifically for the Corpus by the Humanities Text Initiatives.

Opens a window on the vibrant theatrical community in which Shakespeare built his career. Unlike other Folger resources about Shakespeare and his plays, Early Modern English Drama (EMED) features the plays by other playwrights, illuminating an extraordinary era of artistic ferment.

Provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture from the 17th century through 1922. Currently includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters,and oral histories.

Facsimile page images and keyword-searchable full text for more than four hundred works of American prose fiction published before 1875.

Based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristols Supplement to Evans American bibliography, this database, which provides full text, is a foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life.

Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO.

Provides scholars and the general public with convenient web access to transcriptions, images, and metadata for manuscripts from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Full-text searchable facsimile page displays of approximately 150,000 books published in Britain and its colonies during the 18th century.

A unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays, including London Stage, 1600-1800.

Portal to rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.

Making broadside ballads of the seventeenth century fully accessible as texts, art, music, and cultural records.

Contains more than 183,000 poems, comprising essentially the complete canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 sources, the collection represents the work of more than 2,700 poets. Also includes poetry written in English by authors from Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.

Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the 1473-1800.

More than 2,000 works by 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works. English Verse Drama contains works acted on or intended for the stage, which are either wholly or predominantly in verse. Any accompanying text written by the playwright and forming an integral part of the work, such as epigraphs, dramatis personae and notes, is generally also included.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

This resource is a bibliography of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are citations for books, journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies. Also included are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books.

Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement that address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region. The database features 103,624 pages of prose, poetry and drama.

Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before.

An historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.

Provides online access to rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. The phrase "Low Life," in this context, refers to fast literature and street ephemera, including broadsides, cartoons, playbills, advertising, ballads and penny fiction.

Comprised of four distinct, interoperable projects: a digital edition of the 1561 Agas woodcut map of London; an Encyclopedia and Descriptive Gazetteer of London people, places, topics, and terms; a Library of marked-up texts rich in London toponyms; and a versioned edition of John Stow’s Survey of London.

Provides online access to works of European travel writing from the later medieval period chiefly journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. Dates of works range from the 1200s to the 1500s.

A collection of full-text electronic editions of significant works in philosophy, literature, political thought, religious thought, history of science, and social theory. Original language texts in English, Latin, French, German, Danish and Dutch, as well as some works in English translation. The texts are taken from high-quality critical editions, and a number of search options are offered.

An audio and video archive of contemporary poetry and poetics.

A partner and supporter of Open Greek and Latin, an international collaboration committed to creating an open educational resource featuring a corpus of digital texts, deep-reading tools, and open-source software.

Features an archive of thousands of poems by hundreds of classic and contemporary poets, all freely downloadable as well as continually changing journalism about poetry.

An international scholarly project that is establishing for the first time the context from which the drama of Shakespeare and his contemporaries grew.

View 253 digitized Renaissance festival books (selected from over 2,000 in the British Library's collection) that describe the magnificent festivals and ceremonies that took place in Europe between 1475 and 1700—marriages and funerals of royalty and nobility, coronations, stately entries into cities and other grand events.

Electronic editions of middle English texts published by Medieval Institute Publications and TEAMS at the University of Rochester.

2,500 published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day.

The first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Contains selected primary materials (the comics themselves), as well as interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism. Covers 1960's-present.

A long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Our goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader.

A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.

A digital “aggregator,” 18thConnect gathers together information about and links to the best primary and secondary texts that are available in digital form, either freely available on the Web or available by subscription.

A vast "index of indexes" for Anglo-American historical research prior to 1930 that covers periodicals, newspapers, books, and U.S. and British government documents. Links to full text are provided when available.

Covers the period 1969 through to 1990. This bibliographic database contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, the coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.

A bibliography compiled by the Modern Humanities Research Association that contains more than 1 million records, from 1892 through to today with regular monthly updates.

Black Studies Center includes this electronic index to the Black Literature 1827-1940 microfiche collection, edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers. For citations to content from the Chicago Defender for which full text is available in Black Studies Center, a link is included directly to the relevant article.

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Provides citations to articles, conferences proceedings and essays in medieval history. Covers all aspects of the Middle Ages and includes Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 CE to 1500 CE.

A bibliography of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are citations for books, journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies. Also included are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books.

Includes information about the manuscript holdings of British and Irish repositories of all sizes, from the British Library to small-town museums, and about literary authors of all genres, from major poets to minor science fiction writers and romantic novelists.

Bibliography results include only the manuscripts and editions used in the compilation of the Middle English Dictionary.

Provides an integrated publishing environment for aggregated, peer-reviewed online scholarship in nineteenth-century studies, British and American.

The Newberry Library's Center for Renaissance Studies maintains a listing of online resources for those interested in paleography.

A freely available online resource designed to help students and researchers locate secondary sources for the study of the science fiction and fantasy and associated genres. These include: historical material; books; articles; news reports; interviews; film reviews; commentary; and fan writing.

Sources of Early Modern Emotion in English, 1500-1700 (SEMEE) is a living, collaborative project designed to aid researchers working on emotion and affect in the English Renaissance. It contains editable bibliographies of primary sources related to the study of emotion, as well as a bibliography of secondary scholarship on early modern emotion.

Index of over 100,000 citations to articles, books, book chapters and dissertations regarding all fields of nineteenth-century British studies published 1945-present.

A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 73,000 publications, 68,000 personal names, 6,300 issuing bodies, 2,400 publishing towns, 23,000 title pages, 2,000 subjects.

Provides annotated entries for books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published since 1966.

Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).

Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here.

With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable.

Provides access to an enormous range of periodical literature published in Great Britain 1800-1900 of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and the professions.

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

Allows you to search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries. It includes thousands of titles from all 50 states and chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.

American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016. Representing a huge variety in style, production and audience, the newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications.

Full text database of American periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many more.

Covers the period 1969 through to 1990. This bibliographic database contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, the coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.

Three part collection. This resource provides online access to 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. All titles are full text searchable and contain high-resolution facsimile page images.

HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harpers Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. Covers 1857-1908.

A compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

Compare, contract, and visualize word and phrase frequencies over time in the Google Books corpus.

Supports large-scale computational analysis of the works in the HathiTrust Digital Library to facilitate non-profit and educational research.

PhiloLogic, developed by the ARTFL Project at the University of Chicago in collaboration with The University of Chicago Library's Electronic Text Services, provides sophisticated searching of a wide variety of large encoded databases on the World Wide Web.