The Research Process
Explore Your Topic
It is a good idea to do some background research when developing your research question. In addition to your in-class readings, here are some places to find background information
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering a wide-variety of subjects in the social sciences. Particularly strong for handbook coverage.
Reference Books
Subject encyclopedias are also useful in finding background on topics, and they often contain bibliographies that will lead you to secondary sources. These are a few recommendations, but others can be found through NUsearch
The Palgrave Handbook of Social Creativity Research by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9783319954981Publication Date: 2019
The Palgrave Handbook of Creativity at Work by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9783319773506Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Creativity, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship by
Research-based investigations of creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship have the potential to inform each other and enrich our knowledge of each of these areas, particularly with regard to cognitive processes and effective behaviors. Yet, while these research streams have increasinglyreceived a great deal of attention, they have developed largely independently of one another. The Oxford Handbook of Creativity, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship addresses the critical need to integrate these three interrelated literatures.The handbook features contributions from the leading scholars in these research areas. As a group, the chapters examine the intersections of these topics to synthesize contemporary research and provide direction and stimulation for further interdisciplinary investigations of organizationalcreativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780199927678Publication Date: 2015-05-13
Handbook of Imagination and Culture by
Imagination allows individuals and groups to think beyond the here-and-now, to envisage alternatives, to create parallel worlds, and to mentally travel through time. Imagination is both extremely personal (for example, people imagine unique futures for themselves) and deeply social, as our imagination is fed with media and other shared representations. As a result, imagination occupies a central position within the life of mind and society. Expanding the boundaries of disciplinary approaches, the Handbook of Imagination and Culture expertly illustrates this core role of imagination in the development of children, adolescents, adults, and older persons today. Bringing together leading scholars in sociocultural psychology and neighboring disciplines from around the world, this edited volume guides readers towards a much deeper understanding of the conditions of imagining, its resources, its constraints, and the consequences it has on different groups of people in different domains of society. Summarily, this Handbook places imagination at the center, and offers readers new ways to examine old questions regarding the possibility of change, development, and innovation in modern society.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780190468712Publication Date: 2017-10-02
The Oxford Handbook of Group Creativity and Innovation by
Although creativity is often considered an individual ability or activity, innovation in teams and organizations involves collaboration of people with diverse perspectives, knowledge, and skills. The effective development of collaborative innovations and solutions to problems is critical tothe success of teams and organizations, but research has also demonstrated many factors which tend to limit the effectiveness of collaborative innovation of groups and teams. This volume highlights recent theoretical, empirical, and practical developments that provide a solid basis for the practiceof collaborative innovation and future research. It draws from a broad range of research perspectives including cognition, social influence, groups, teams, creativity, communication, networks, information systems, organizational psychology, engineering, computer science, and the arts. This volumeis an important source of information for students, scholars, practitioners, and others interested in understanding the complexity of the group creative process and tapping the creative potential of groups and teams.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780190648077Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Sociology
Jason Kruse
Contact:
2North-Core
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2171
jkruse@northwestern.edu
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2171
jkruse@northwestern.edu
Subjects: Sociology