Subject Headings in Databases
In the same way you can use subject headings to find more books on a specific topic, you can use subject headings within databases to find similar scholarly articles. Subject headings (also called controlled vocabulary) differ from database to database.
Subject Guides
-
*African Studies Resources
by Florence Mugambi Last Updated Feb 6, 2024 369 views this year
- *Comparative Literature
- *Korean Studies
- *Philosophy
- *Political Science
- *South Asian Studies
Databases of Journal Articles for Comparative Literature
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Dissertations from Other Universities
The University Library owns only a few dissertations completed by students at other universities (an exception is the Herskovits Library of African Studies which purchases extensively within African studies). Those that are available can be found in NUsearch.
More and more universities are providing free online access to their dissertations and theses. If you know the university where the dissertation or thesis was completed, check their library catalog to see if a free digital copy is available. There are also some consortial efforts to provide open access dissertations and theses. Some examples include:
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalA partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.
- EThoS - Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new windowThe aim of EThOS is to offer a 'single point of access' where researchers the world over can access ALL theses produced by UK Higher Education. This service is still in beta, but you can access over 250,000 records and access a large number of free full text.
- OhioLINK ETD CenterA free, online database of Ohio’s masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.