Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are alphabetically arranged collections of articles that provide background information on key concepts, theories, and measures. They are a great place to start exploring a paper topic. Here are just a few.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Call Number: 294.503 B857 Location:MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)ISBN: 9789004176416Publication Date: 2009A comprehensive encyclopedia that contains lengthy scholarly essays (15 to 50 pages long) on all aspects of Hinduism. Please note that this is in the reference collection in the Periodicals and Newspaper reading room on the first floor of the Main Library.
Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Call Number: 294.503 E56 Location:MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)ISBN: 9780700712670Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of ReligionCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 0028657330Publication Date: 2004Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. Includes numerous articles related to Hinduism.
Available Online.
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend, Thames and Hudson by ISBN: 1849720983Publication Date: 2004Available Online
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by ISBN: 0028659104Publication Date: 2004This encyclopedia is a historically focused work that provides an introduction to the doctrinal, ethical, social and spiritual ideas that inform the various traditions of Buddhism and the changes they have undergone over more that 2500 years.
Available Online
Librarian
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.