Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes and databases
Subject specific databases, indexes, and bibliographies
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
The ATLA database provides citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all areas of religious studies. Included in this database is the ATLA Serials collection which contains full text coverage of 250 Religion and Theology journals. This database includes over 1.8 million citations. Incorporates ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online .
Provides surveys of current research from across the entire discipline. This is an excellent resource for beginning research and locating and identifying the major issues.
Oxford Bibliographies: Hinduism This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Hinduism. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access limited to up to 5 results for each search.
Religious and Theological Abstracts indexes and provides summaries of a wide variety of scholarly periodical literature including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Also indexed are journals in the areas of fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a full text archive of millions of articles published in over 700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages. Coverage is from 1802 to 2005.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A partnership of more than sixty major research institutions with Google, the Hathi Trust Digital Library includes all the book images from these libraries that have been digitized by Google. Only out-of-copyright images (generally pre-1923) can be displayed, or others where the permission of the copyright holder has been obtained, though both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users who register with the site.
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.