Native American Tribes are sovereign nations and have formal relationships with the U.S. Federal Government. At the same time there are federal agencies which provide services to Native American people and Tribal governments. This page provides pointers to federal agencies which provide services to, or partner with, Native American tribes in the pursuit of their mission.
Dept of Agriculture
Dept of Health & Human Services
Dept of the Interior
Search the U.S.Government Manual which provides names and contact information for agencies and staff, organizational charts, and descriptions of responsibilities.
Context for Indian Land Claims
Y. W. Dennis, A. Hirschfelder, & S. R. Flynn, Native American almanac: more than 50,000 years of the cultures and histories of indigenous peoples. Canton, MI: Visible Ink Press, 2016. Includes several articles on land claims in various regions including:
Wilkins, David. "The "Peculiar" Relationship of Indigenous Peoples to the U.S. Government." American Indian Histories and Cultures. 2013. Accessed August 16, 2018. http://www.aihc.amdigital.co.uk/FurtherResources/Essays/USGovernment
The Bureau of Indian Affairs was established in the War Department in 1824 and transferred to the Dept of the Interior in 1849.
Federal Laws, Treaties & Regulations
Indigenous Digital Archive (IDA) Digital Treaties Explorer
The US National Archives holds 374 treaties enacted between Indigenous peoples and the United States, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. They can now be viewed online for the first time, along with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
Supplement to Kappler's Indian affairs, laws and treaties: compiled federal regulations relating to Indians. U.S. Dept of Interior, 1975. Available online.
American State Papers, Class II. Indian affairs. 2 volumes. 1st Cong.-19th Cong., May 25, 1789-Mar. 1, 1827.
Federal Agency Reports
NU Libraries has been a depository for publications of the US government since 1876 and have historic publications from some agencies, particularly their annual reports.
U.S. Commisssioner on Indian Affairs. Annual Reports, 1824-1968. 18 reels of microfilm
GOV I 20.1: year (GOV microfiche cabinets)
U.S. Commissioner on Indian Affairs. Annual Report.
GOV I 20.1: year (print copies 1855-1879)
Board of Indian Commissioners. Annual Report.
GOV I 20.5:year (print copies 1890-1932)
Report of the Superintendent of Indian Schools.
GOV I 20.7: year (print copies 1887-1906)
Native American Language & Culture
Contributions to North American Ethnology. U.S. Geographical and Geological Survey of the Rocky Mountain Region, J.W. Powell in charge. 1877-1893. Print volumes available at GOV I 17.5:
Electronic edition available via HathiTrust for all volumes.
ProQuest Congressional (see also Readex Government Documents)
Congressional hearings on legislation and treaties provide insight into policy. Annual reports of federal agencies were submitted to Congress and published as part of the Serial Set (1817-1994), included in this database. Debates in Congress are recorded in the Congressional Record, and its predecessors.
American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set 1817-1899
Among the extensive digital collections relevant to American Indian history hosted by SHAREOK, the joint institutional repository for the University of Oklahoma Libraries (OU), Oklahoma State University Libraries (OSU), and the University of Central Oklahoma Max Chambers Library (UCO).
First Nations Collection, Southern Oregon Digital Archive
Contains documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of southwestern Oregon and northern California. Some of these nations include the Coos, Hupa, Karuk, Klamath, Modoc, Takelma, Shasta, Siuslaw, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua, Yahooskin, and Yurok nations.