Core Resources
-
Decolonizing Methodologies
by
To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction and features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781786998125Publication Date: 2021-04-08 -
Decolonizing Research
by
From Oceania to North America, Indigenous peoples have created storytelling traditions of incredible depth and diversity. The term 'Indigenous storywork' has come to encompass the sheer breadth of ways in which Indigenous storytelling serves as a historical record, as a form of teaching and learning, and as an expression of Indigenous culture and identity. But such traditions have too often been relegated to the realm of myth and legend, recorded as fragmented distortions, or erased altogether. Decolonizing Research brings together Indigenous researchers and activists from Canada, Australia and New Zealand to assert the unique value of Indigenous storywork as a focus of research and to develop methodologies that rectify the colonial attitudes inherent in much past and current scholarship. By bringing together their own indigenous perspectives, and by treating Indigenous storywork on its own terms, the contributors illuminate valuable new avenues for research and show how such reworked scholarship can contribute to the movement for Indigenous rights and self-determination.
Call Number: GN378 .D43 2019ISBN: 9781786994615Publication Date: 2019-05-15 -
Digital Preservation and Documentation of Global Indigenous Knowledge Systems
by
Indigenous knowledge is regarded as undocumented cultural, local, traditional, and community knowledge produced and owned by local people in their specific communities. It is mainly preserved in the memories of elders and shared or passed on from generation to generation through oral communication, traditional practices, and demonstrations. This irreplaceable resource may be lost forever as a direct result of the pressures of modernization, colonization, and globalization. Concern over the loss of Indigenous knowledge has thus raised a need for the preservation and documentation of this knowledge in digital formats. Digital Preservation and Documentation of Global Indigenous Knowledge Systems determines how Indigenous knowledge can be documented and digitally preserved to benefit Indigenous knowledge owners and their communities and be accessible for future generations. The book provides the best practices, innovative strategies, theoretical and conceptual frameworks, and empirical research findings regarding the digital preservation and documentation of Indigenous knowledge systems worldwide. Covering topics such as digital media platforms, educational management, and knowledge systems, this premier reference source is a valuable and useful tool for students, information professionals, knowledge managers, records managers, Indigenous knowledge owners, Indigenous community leaders, librarians, archivists, computer scientists, information technology specialists, students and educators of higher education, researchers, and academicians.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781668470251Publication Date: 2023-08-03 -
Elements of Indigenous style : a guide for writing by and about Indigenous Peoples
by
"Elements of Indigenous Style provides guidelines to help writers, editors, and publishers produce material that reflects Indigenous people in an appropriate and respectful manner. Gregory Younging, a member of the Opaskwayak Cree Nation in Northern Manitoba, has been the managing editor of Theytus Books, the first Aboriginal-owned publishing house in Canada, for over 13 years. Elements of Indigenous Style evolved from the house style guide Gregory developed at Theytus in order to ensure content was consistent and respectful. This guide contains: A historical overview of the portrayal of Indigenous peoples in literature; Common errors and how to avoid them when writing about Indigenous peoples; Guidance on working in a culturally sensitive way; A discussion of problematic and preferred terminology; Suggestions for editorial guidelines."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: PN147 .Y68 2018ISBN: 9781550597196Publication Date: 2018 -
Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies
by
Built on the foundation of the landmark 'SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research', the 'Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies' extends beyond the investigation of qualitative inquiry itself to explore the indigenous and non-indigenous voices that inform research, policy, politics, and social justice. The editors explore in depth some of the newer formulations of critical theories and many indigenous perspectives, and seek to make transparent the linkages between the two.
Call Number: 305.8001 H2357 | also available via Sage CoreISBN: 9781412918039Publication Date: 2008-05-07 -
Indigenous Methodologies
by
Indigenous Methodologies is a groundbreaking text. Since its original publication in 2009, it has become the most trusted guide used in the study of Indigenous methodologies and has been adopted in university courses around the world. It provides a conceptual framework for implementing Indigenous methodologies and serves as a useful entry point for those wishing to learn more broadly about Indigenous research. The second edition incorporates new literature along with substantial updates, including a thorough discussion of Indigenous theory and analysis, new chapters on community partnership and capacity building, an added focus on oracy and other forms of knowledge dissemination, and a renewed call to decolonize the academy. The second edition also includes discussion questions to enhance classroom interaction with the text. In a field that continues to grow and evolve, and as universities and researchers strive to learn and apply Indigenous-informed research, this important new edition introduces readers to the principles and practices of Indigenous methodologies.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781487525644Publication Date: 2021-07-12 -
Indigenous Research
by
Scholars understand what Indigenous research is, but how we practice Indigenous research ethically and respectfully in Canada is under exploration. This ground-breaking edited collection provides readers with concrete and in-depth examples of how to overcome the challenges of Indigenous research with respect to Indigenous worldviews, epistemologies, and ontology. In collaboration with their communities, and with guidance from Elders and other traditional knowledge keepers, each contributor links their personal narrative of Indigenous research to current discussions and debates. Accessible in nature, this interdisciplinary research tool is an essential read for all students and scholars in Indigenous Studies, as well as in the education, anthropology, sociology, and history research methodology classroom.
Call Number: E76.7 .I53 2018ISBN: 9781773380858Publication Date: 2018-08-30 -
Indigenous Research Design
by
Indigenous Research Design is an interdisciplinary text that explores how researchers reimagine research paradigms, frameworks, designs, and methods. Building upon the theories and research teachings presented by Indigenous Peoples in Indigenous Knowledge Systems and Research Methodologies, editors Elizabeth Sumida Huaman and Nathan D. Martin present practical formations and applications of Indigenous research for a variety of community, student, professional, and educational projects. With contributions from a broad selection of Indigenous scholars across disciplines and continents, this collection shares research stories and innovations directly linked to Indigenous Peoples' lived experiences. The contributors ask researchers to rethink how their work is gathered, interpreted, and presented while providing guidance for how Indigenous knowledges and critiques inform each element and stage of the research process. This volume aims to inspire new and Indigenous-led ways of thoughtfully developing research questions, conceptualizing qualitative research paradigms, and collecting, analyzing, and disseminating data. Equipped with chapter learning objectives, critical reflection questions, a glossary, and featuring a foreword written by Manulani Aluli Meyer, this engaging text is a vital addition to the field of research methods and essential reading for any aspiring and established researchers, including university and college students who encounter qualitative and mixed-methods research in their respective disciplines.
Call Number: CORE REF GN380 .I537 2023ISBN: 9781773383699Publication Date: 2023-08-31 -
Indigenous Research Methodologies
by
Following the increasing emphasis in the classroom and in the field to sensitize researchers and students to diverse epistemologies, methods, and methodologies - especially those of women, minority groups, former colonized societies, indigenous people, historically oppressed communities, and people with disabilities, author Bagele Chilisa has written the first research methods textbook that situates research in a larger, historical, cultural, and global context with case studies from around the globe to make very visible the specific methodologies that are commensurate with the transformative paradigm of research and the historical and cultural traditions of indigenous peoples. Chapters cover the history of research methods, colonial epistemologies, research within postcolonial societies, relational epistemologies, emergent and indigenous methodologies, Afrocentric research, feminist research, language frameworks, interviewing, and building partnerships between researchers and the researched. The book comes replete with traditional textbook features such as key points, exercises, and suggested readings, which makes it ideally suited for graduate courses in research methods, especially in education, health, women′s studies, cultural studies, sociology, and related social sciences.
Call Number: 305.80072 C537iISBN: 9781412958820Publication Date: 2011-07-12 -
Kaandossiwin : how we come to know : Indigenous re-search methodologies
by
Indigenous methodologies have been silenced and obscured by the Western scientific means of knowledge production. In a challenge to this colonialist rejection of Indigenous knowledge, Anishinaabe re-searcher Kathleen Absolon describes how Indigenous re-searchers re-theorize and re-create methodologies. Indigenous knowledge resurgence is being informed by taking a second look at how re-search is grounded. Absolon consciously adds an emphasis on re with a hyphen as a process of recovery of Kaandossiwin and Indigenous re-search. Understanding Indigenous methodologies as guided by Indigenous paradigms, worldviews, principles, processes and contexts, Absolon argues that they are wholistic, relational, inter-relational and interdependent with Indigenous philosophies, beliefs and ways of life. In exploring the ways Indigenous re-searchers use Indigenous methodologies within mainstream academia, Kaandossiwin renders these methods visible and helps to guard other ways of knowing from colonial repression. This second edition features the author's reflections on her decade of re-search and teaching experience since the last edition, celebrating the most common student questions, concerns, and revelations.
Call Number: GALTER W 20.5 A164k 2022ISBN: 9781773635170Publication Date: 2022-07-19 -
New Directions in Theorizing Qualitative Research
by
The chapters in this volume collect together perspectives on Indigenous epistemologies. These Indigenous ways of knowing pay particular attention to the relational aspects of language, culture, and place. They are not identified as specific themes, but as integrated parts of a philosophy, for Indigenous epistemologies think within a relational framework, so that all aspects are best understood from this perspective. Indigenous ways of knowing have resisted colonization and oppression, and as such, Indigenous research perspectives exemplify a commitment to social justice, one that recovers knowledges that have been silenced or subjugated. When such knowledge is shared, we can see how to challenge oppressive regimes. We can see how to seek truth in a relational way that's attendant to being together. Indigenous Researchtakes up issues of social justice in a way that is informed by Indigenous epistemologies, an important practice in contemporary research, particularly qualitative inquiry.
Call Number: CORE REF GN380 .I63 2020ISBN: 9781975501723Publication Date: 2020-03-03 -
Research Is Ceremony
by
Indigenous researchers are knowledge seekers who work to progress Indigenous ways of being, knowing and doing in a modern and constantly evolving context. This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice. Relationships don't just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships. For researchers to be accountable to all our relations, we must make careful choices in our selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis and finally in the way we present information. I'm an Opaskwayak Cree from northern Manitoba currently living in the Northern Rivers area of New South Wales, Australia. I'm also a father of three boys, a researcher, son, uncle, teacher, world traveller, knowledge keeper and knowledge seeker. As an educated Indian, I've spent much of my life straddling the Indigenous and academic worlds. Most of my time these days is spent teaching other Indigenous knowledge seekers (and my kids) how to accomplish this balancing act while still keeping both feet on the ground.
Call Number: GN380 .W554 2008ISBN: 9781552662816Publication Date: 2008-09-01 -
Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts
by
This forward-looking resource offers readers a modern contextual framework for conducting social science research with indigenous peoples. Foundational chapters summarize current UN-based standards for indigenous rights and autonomy, with their implications for research practice. Coverage goes on to detail minimally-invasive data-gathering methods, survey current training and competency issues, and consider the scientist's role in research, particularly as a product of his/her own cultural background. From these guidelines and findings, students and professionals have a robust base for carrying out indigenous research that is valid and reliable as well as respectful and ethical. Among the topics covered: · Cultural theories and cultural dominance. · The legal framework of research in indigenous contexts. · The role of language within indigenous peoples' cultural rights. · Methodology: how to optimally collect data in the field. · Researchers' influence and philosophy of science. · Learning how to prepare research in indigenous contexts. Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts is an important reference benefitting a wide audience, including students and researchers in the social sciences, humanities, and psychology; decision-makers of NGOs and GOs that act with regard to humanitarian aid, for tourism projects, or any other contingency with indigenous contexts; and policymakers interested in the aspects of human activity upon which indigenous cultural concerns are based.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9783319727745Publication Date: 2018-02-12 -
Routledge Handbook of Critical Indigenous Studies
by
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Indigenous Studies is the first comprehensive overview of the rapidly expanding field of Indigenous scholarship. The book is ambitious in scope, ranging across disciplines and national boundaries, with particular reference to the lived conditions of Indigenous peoples in the first world. The contributors are all themselves Indigenous scholars who provide critical understandings of indigeneity in relation to ontology (ways of being), epistemology (ways of knowing), and axiology (ways of doing) with a view to providing insights into how Indigenous peoples and communities engage and examine the worlds in which they are immersed. Sections include: * Indigenous Sovereignty * Indigeneity in the 21st Century * Indigenous Epistemologies * The Field of Indigenous Studies * Global Indigeneity This handbook contributes to the re-centring of Indigenous knowledges, providing material and ideational analyses of social, political, and cultural institutions and critiquing and considering how Indigenous peoples situate themselves within, outside, and in relation to dominant discourses, dominant postcolonial cultures and prevailing Western thought. This book will be of interest to scholars with an interest in Indigenous peoples across Literature, History, Sociology, Critical Geographies, Philosophy, Cultural Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Native Studies, Māori Studies, Hawaiian Studies, Native American Studies, Indigenous Studies, Race Studies, Queer Studies, Politics, Law, and Feminism.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780429802362Publication Date: 2020-12-30 -
Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies
by
Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies is a synthesis of changes and innovations in methodologies in Indigenous Studies, focusing on sources over a broad chronological and geographical range. Written by a group of highly respected Indigenous Studies scholars from across an array of disciplines, this collection offers insight into the methodological approaches contributors take to research, and how these methods have developed in recent years. The book has a two-part structure that looks, firstly, at the theoretical and disciplinary movement of Indigenous Studies within history, literature, anthropology, and the social sciences. Chapters in this section reveal that, while engaging with other disciplines, Indigenous Studies has forged its own intellectual path by borrowing and innovating from other fields. In part two, the book examines the many different areas with which sources for indigenous history have been engaged, including the importance of family, gender, feminism, and sexuality, as well as various elements of expressive culture such as material culture, literature, and museums. Together, the chapters offer readers an overview of the dynamic state of the field in Indigenous Studies. This book shines a spotlight on the ways in which scholarship is transforming Indigenous Studies in methodologically innovative and exciting ways, and will be essential reading for students and scholars in the field.
Call Number: GN380 .S68 2017ISBN: 9781138823600Publication Date: 2016-12-27
Introduction
"Indigenous peoples are used to being studied by outsiders; indeed, many of the basic disciplines of knowledge are implicated in studying the Other and creating expert knowledge. More recently, however, indigenous researchers have been active in seeking ways to disrupt the “history of exploitation, suspicion, misunderstanding, and prejudice” of indigenous peoples in order to develop methodologies and approaches to research that privilege indigenous knowledges, voices, experiences, reflections, and analyses of their social, material, and spiritual conditions. . .
Indigenist research also includes a critique of the “rules of practice regarding research, the way research projects are funded, and the development of strategies that address community concerns about the assumptions, ethics, purposes, procedures, and outcomes of research. These strategies often have led to innovative research questions, new methodologies, new research relationships, deep analyses of the researcher in context, and analyses, interpretations, and the making of meanings that have been enriched by indigenous concepts and language. . .
Research, like schooling, once the tool of colonization and oppression, is very gradually coming to be seen as a potential means to reclaim languages, histories, and knowledge, to find solutions to the negative impacts of colonialism and to give voice to an alternative way of knowing and of being."
- Tuhiwai Smith, Linda." On tricky ground: Researching the Native in the age of uncertainty." In Luttrell, Wendy. Qualitative Educational Research: Readings in Reflexive Methodology and Transformative Practice. Routledge, 2010.