China
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper collection provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of China during the id-19th through early 20th Century.
- Jie fang jun bao (PLA Daily) This link opens in a new windowThe PLA Daily, which started its publication on January 1, 1956, is the authoritative media of the Chinese People's Liberation Army (PLA) to release military news and comprehensive military-related information and is the official newspaper of the Central Military Commission.
- 中央日報 (Central Daily News 1928-1949) This link opens in a new windowA complete database of pages of the 1928-1949 issues of the Zhongyang Ribao (Central Daily News).
- People's Daily (人民日报) 1946-2012(Chinese)Adobe Reader 8 with Chinese simplified font pack required to view pdfs; available for download through web site. Time-span: 1946-2006
- North China HeraldThe North China Herald Online is a full-text searchable database that features the history of foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. Apart from news and information reflecting the social, cultural and political life of the foreign settlements, this database also provides translations of Chinese official notifications and news, trade statistics, stock prices, essays on Chinese culture and language, law reports from foreign courts in the settlements, company reports, maps, cartoons, photographs, and lots of other related topics.
- British Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980The documents combine eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, economic assessments and synopses on key events, leading personalities and all major new developments relating to China during the period.
- NewspaperSGNewspaperSG is an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers published between 1831 to 2009
Japan
- Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser, and The Nippon Times; includes issues from March 22, 1897 through the final issue of the previous calendar year.
- Asahi shinbun kurosu sāchi This link opens in a new windowA newspaper database for Asahi Shinbun containing articles published from 1879 to present. Also includes articles from two weekly magazines, AERA and Shūkan Asahi; Chiezo, a contemporary dictionary; the Who's Who Database; and the Historical Photo Archive.
- Maisaku 每日新聞社のデータベース, 每索Access to the online full-text database of Mainichi shinbun (1872 (Meiji 5)- ). The database also includes Mainichi daily news (June 2008- ), Shūkan Ekonomisuto (October 1989- ), the public opinion poll conducted by Mainichi Shinbunsha (1945- ), Mainichi yoron chōsa, and the company history "’Mainichi’ no 3-seiki."
- Complete Database for Japanese Magazines and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present This link opens in a new windowIndex to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan.
- Yomidas（Yomiuri Database Service) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of Yomiuri Shimbun, the largest newspaper publisher in Japan. Contains in-depth information about Japan through access to more than 10 million articles carried by The Yomiuri Shimbun between 1874 and 1989, texts of Yomiuri Shimbun articles published since 1986, texts of Daily Yomiuri articles published since 1989, and a Japanese-language database featuring about 26,000 contemporary key individuals, their careers and achievements.
