Librarian
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Newspapers
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of national and regional newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Times of London from 1785 to 2014.
- Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000Launched in 1855, The Telegraph (London) was the first 1d morning paper (The Times was 7d). By 1876, The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world, with a circulation of 300,000. The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to the Illustrated London News for its entire run from 1842 through 2003.
- Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Economist Historical Archive provides access to the full text of The Economist, the weekly British paper essential to knowledge in politics, current affairs and business and trade worldwide. The archive covers 1843-2020.
- Financial Times Historical ArchiveThe Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2010.
- Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to the publication the Listener which ran from 1929 to 1991 and providing print reproduction of BBC radio and television programming as well as discussion of literary and musical programs and book reviews.
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowCaribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands published in the 18th and 19th centuries. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, Caribbean Newspapers is the largest online collection of newspapers published in this region.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowThis is a searchable collection of 19th and 20th century historical newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and South Asia. This collection can be cross searched with the America's Historical Newspaper collection.