al-Manẓūmah / المنظومةThis link opens in a new windowSpecial restriction note: ACCESS RESTRICTED to the Northwestern University Evanston Campus.
Dar al-Manẓūmah provides access to a series of databases with full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations, and academic journals from 1921 to present.
This database is a comprehensive online full text database for Arabic scholarly output. It provides access to close-to one million Arabic items (1/3 in abstract), including 65K items mainly in English and other languages. It consists of 6 specialized databases which are: AraBase for language and literature, IslamicInfo for Islamic studies and Islamic law, HumanIndex for humanities, EcoLink for economic and management studies, EduSearch for education, and Mandumah Dissertations and Thesis which includes full text and abstracts for about 200,000 (1/2 in abstracts) from 170 schools across the Arab world. – Publisher
Anthropology PlusThis link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of anthropological materials. Unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres: Harvard University's Anthropological Literature and the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index. Coverage: 1800s to today.
AnthroSourceThis link opens in a new windowOnline journals from the American Anthropological Association.
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexThis link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
ArtstorThis link opens in a new windowNew interface available at JSTOR Artstor.
Artstor is a digital image library that provides over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from around the globe and across time periods. Included are images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Register for free with the site to access its full range of services.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsThis link opens in a new windowThe ATLA database provides citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all areas of religious studies. Included in this database is the ATLA Serials collection which contains full text coverage of 250 Religion and Theology journals. This database includes over 1.8 million citations. Incorporates ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online .
Confidential Print. Middle EastThis link opens in a new windowThe Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government 1820-1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. The collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981This link opens in a new windowThis resource addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia. Sourced from the UK National Archives, the documents were created by British diplomats and civil servants, and include analyses, annual reviews and diplomatic correspondence.
Pascal & Francis Bibliographic DatabasesThis link opens in a new windowFRANCIS indexes an international range of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports, across the humanities and social sciences. PASCAL covers science, including biology and medicine. Produced by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, the database is strongest for French-language sources. Covers 1972-present.
Index IslamicusThis link opens in a new windowCitations to over 240,000 articles and monographs dealing with all aspects of Muslim life and Middle Eastern studies, including history, economics, religion and theology, law, art and architecture, and philosophy. Also included are citations to conference papers and presentations, memorial volumes and collected essays.
Iraq, 1914-1974 (Middle East Online, Series II)This link opens in a new windowFully searchable database of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian StudiesThis link opens in a new windowMiddle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowCompiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Oxford Bibliographies: Islamic StudiesThis link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
PAIS IndexThis link opens in a new windowIndex focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.
Periodicals Archive OnlineThis link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a full text archive of millions of articles published in over 700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages. Coverage is from 1802 to 2005.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowNot all content is available full text to Northwestern community.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis link opens in a new windowWith more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowSearch the Vanderbilt Television News Archive of network television news programs and other news-related programming recorded since August 5, 1968. Streaming video of NBC and CNN content is available. The Archive makes all the items in its collection available to the public through a loan service. See a librarian for more information.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowCitations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.
Banipal magazine showcases contemporary Arab authors in English translation, from wherever they are writing and publishing. Banipal’s three issues a year present both established and emerging Arab writers through poems, short stories or excerpts of novels.
Foreign Official Gazettes Database (CRL)The Foreign Official Gazette database (FOG) contains records for approximately 650 official gazette titles from countries outside the United States. It serves as a “union list” of holdings within the major collections residing in North America, encompassing both CRL holdings as well as the holdings of five other major libraries.
LIMAG: Littératures du MaghrebLa base de données Limag (Littératures maghrébines) a été créée en 1989 par Charles Bonn et la Coordination internationale des chercheurs sur les littératures maghrébines (CICLIM), d’abord pour répertorier les thèses, puis pour répertorier l’ensemble de la production littéraire maghrébine et sur le Maghreb. À partir de 1998 le site compléta cette bibliographie informatisée en publiant des thèses, des articles et divers livres en ligne, tout en signalant l’actualité des recherches sur les littératures maghrébines : colloques, manifestations, soutenances, etc.
Persian Language Databases at RISESTLinks to a number of general and scientific databases in Persian language hosted at RICEST (The Regional Information Center for Science and Technology)