The University of Chicago has extremely rich collections; consult their online catalog from the URL above. Northwestern students and faculty may obtain circulating University of Chicago library materials via interlibrary loan, or in person. Northwestern students/faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges; for more information on this program, including information on how to activate your reciprocal borrowing privileges, inquire at Northwestern Library’s circulation desk, or go to http://www.library.northwestern.edu/services/getting-materials/reciprocal-borrowing-programs .
The University of Chicago houses collections across the humanities and social sciences, with exceptional strengths in South Asia, East Asia, and the Middle East. The Special Collections at the University of Chicago range widely from the middle ages to modern times and cannot be quickly summarized; the Special Collections Department Web site at http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/spcl/ provides a useful overview. For a list of the archival and manuscript collections in the Special Collections Department, see http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/spcl/findaid/mafa.html .
Separate from the University of Chicago library system is the Oriental Institute Research Archives and Library http://oi.uchicago.edu/research/library/ with collections on the ancient Near East. Membership fees apply. 1155 East 58th Street, Chicago, IL 60637 (773) 702-9537.

Note especially the UIC Special Collections, which include history of Chicago materials. See the Special Collections and University Archives home page http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/specialcoll/. Materials are housed in both the Daley Library and the Health Sciences Library, both of which are located on UIC's campus. The Richard J. Daley Special Collections Department houses rare books and archival materials with a strong emphasis on the history of Chicago, though special collections in other areas, such as the Caribbean, are also held.

Northwestern students/faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges at Loyola; for more information on this program, including information on how to activate your reciprocal borrowing privileges, inquire at Northwestern Library’s circulation desk, or go to: http://www.library.northwestern.edu/services/getting-materials/reciprocal-borrowing-programs . Strengths include religious studies and philosophy. A notable special collection is the Women & Leadership Archive http://www.luc.edu/wla/ , housed in the Gannon Center for Women.
7. DePaul University Library
http://library.depaul.edu/
2350 N.

Strong collection of Latino/Latina literature in the general collection; interesting special collections include Irish literature and pulp fiction.

Northwestern's law library, located on the Chicago campus. Many materials can be sent to Evanston via interlibrary loan; rare materials can be used on-site. Some Pritzker databases are restricted, and can used only by law students. Pritzker's hours are listed on their web site. Note that they have special hours during the law schools' reading and exam weeks.

Kent is a designated depository for U.S. government, United Nations, and European Union material.

Serves the legal information needs of the legal profession, judiciary, self-represented litigants, and the public. Collection includes practical legal resources in print and many premier legal databases. Specialized collections include government documents and foreign and international law including current and historical materials.