Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a great place to find articles of literary analysis in books and journals. The most effective way to begin your search in the MLA is to search for a paticular author or work. The trick is to identify how the indexers at the MLA describe an author's name or the name of a work. Search the "Names as Subjects" index above the search box in the MLA.
For example, the Brothers Grimm are referred to as (DE "Grimm, Die Brüder").
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the place to search for specific topics of literary analysis in journals. The way to begin your search in ASC is to search the "Subject Terms" index above the search box.
For example, when you do a search for Fairy Tales you will get a list of subject headings to use to search for articles about Fairy Tales.